Hi Guys,

About two months ago i purchased an R33 Gts-t Series. However after owning the car for that time, I am now getting used to the power and it isnt giving the same kicks i recieved at first :O

I'm intending to modify it further, however the last owner had done a fair bit to the car.

Due to my lackage of modifying knowledge i have no clue on where to start. I've saved an ok amount of money over the past 2-3 weeks, however i'm not sure on which part of the car i should focus on for the short term.

I was thinking of upgrading brake components for now, with some braded lines and slotted rotors. However the standard brakes with upgraded pads are doing relatively well, so i will put them on hold for the mean time.

So far, all i have done to the car is replace the plugs with splitfire spark plugs and a splitfire ignition coils pack, and also general maintenace, such a brake flush, oil etc.

The current mods on the car include:

- Xtream racing clutch 'Brass button sprung centre' (1200kg clamp pressure)

- 3.5 inch dump pipe, mandrel bent exhaust. 'xforce'

- 'c's shortshifter

- Greddy 2 stage boost controller

- greddy 550hp Fuel pump

- HKS intercooler

- Blitz BOV

- Apexi Power FC + handcontroller

- G.C.G High flow garret turbo replacement (not sure on what model turbo it is - Will find out when car is put on hoist etc.)

- splitfire plugs

- Splitfire ignition coils pack

- 8 way adjustable suspension

- Whiteline, 4 way adjustable sway bars

The previous owner said the car hit 335Bhp (17psi), however i'm not going to go off that power figure as hopefully i can get the car on the dyno in the next 2-3 weeks.

Could somebody give me a bit of direction on what i should be focussing on now, what parts i should start researching on etc. . . I'm trying to hold off a full engine rebuild at the moment, although suggestions are appreciated. I'm intending to put that bit of coin in a new set of rims soon ;) .

Thanks alot.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/200153-modification-plans/

why not start with stronger rods, pistons.

valve springs, solid lifters, and some better cams.

that should take up most of your budget and provide a kickass engine.

and a 'bigger' turbo and your basically sorted

Edited by r33cruiser
why not start with stronger rods, pistons.

valve springs, solid lifters, and some better cams.

that should take up most of your budget and provide a kickass engine.

and a 'bigger' turbo and your basically sorted

The car is already running a High boost setting on 17psi.

Would it be necessary for a new turbo and higher boost to get more power from a rebuild, or does a rebuild just by itself add many killowats, leaving the current turbo and 17psi boost?? :O

Where the car is now, its reliable and perfect, and reasonably cheap to run due to the reliability.

Your basically at the cross road in terms of cost for gain mate.

If you go chasing anymore power your basically looking at a 10k+ expenditure.

As once you get over around the 250-280rwkw mark, the return on investment (power vs cost) starts to grow pretty damn fast

Rebuild bottom/top end work - 5-8k

Brakes/diff (possibly new clutch) - 2.5k (3.5k)

Bigger turbo setup/manifold/dumps/gaskets etc etc - 3.5-4k

You could change turbo to say a 3076 for an extra 20-30rwkw, but IMO its not worth it for 2.5k at all on a stock motor that might let go (6k)

So you've gotta ask yourself the really tough questions.

Do you have 10-15k to spend? And can you afford to have the car potentially off the road for quite some time?

If not, then you'll have to make the most of the setup you have.

Ive been there, in all honesty I probably wouldn’t go there again (big power street car).

I reckon this personally.

1. Get the new rims and some decent tyres.

2. Go visit a reputable tuner to get a bit more out of the setup as I think you can get a bit more kick there.

3. Hit the track days (youll need an oil cooler, better pads/fluid etc at the least aswell).

This way you can at least have a LOT more fun with the car as it is, without spending much more money for a while.

You wont be a track 'gun' for a year or two at least, so your times will improve every outing even though your not really spending money on the car modifying it.

So in a way is giving you results without cost (other than tyres/fees/brakes etc)

Some food for thought.

Where the car is now, its reliable and perfect, and reasonably cheap to run due to the reliability.

Your basically at the cross road in terms of cost for gain mate.

If you go chasing anymore power your basically looking at a 10k+ expenditure.

As once you get over around the 250-280rwkw mark, the return on investment (power vs cost) starts to grow pretty damn fast

Rebuild bottom/top end work - 5-8k

Brakes/diff (possibly new clutch) - 2.5k (3.5k)

Bigger turbo setup/manifold/dumps/gaskets etc etc - 3.5-4k

You could change turbo to say a 3076 for an extra 20-30rwkw, but IMO its not worth it for 2.5k at all on a stock motor that might let go (6k)

So you've gotta ask yourself the really tough questions.

Do you have 10-15k to spend? And can you afford to have the car potentially off the road for quite some time?

If not, then you'll have to make the most of the setup you have.

Ive been there, in all honesty I probably wouldn't go there again (big power street car).

I reckon this personally.

1. Get the new rims and some decent tyres.

2. Go visit a reputable tuner to get a bit more out of the setup as I think you can get a bit more kick there.

3. Hit the track days (youll need an oil cooler, better pads/fluid etc at the least aswell).

This way you can at least have a LOT more fun with the car as it is, without spending much more money for a while.

You wont be a track 'gun' for a year or two at least, so your times will improve every outing even though your not really spending money on the car modifying it.

So in a way is giving you results without cost (other than tyres/fees/brakes etc)

Some food for thought.

Cool. Thanks heaps.

As for the Bigger injectors, i can't clarify it.

I'm assuming something was put in with the Greddy Fuel pump (550hp).

But if i don't have anything, what size would you recomend? the bigger the better right?

If i put fuel injectors that are to big, would it also reduce power, or is it all beneficial in the end?

I definately don't have to the budget to go for a complete rebuild :dry: (10-15k) ... And come to think of it, I'd rather upgrade with that cash to a 33 GTR >_< .