• Replies 123

No but he drove like a wanker,

what a punk, shoulda went n leaned on his rearview mirror i hear they cost 7k each he woulda loved it :laugh:

also just thought id mention there's a calculator somewhere on the net to figure out how much your speedo will be out with bigger wheels cant remember the site name.

well i think you did really well for your first time out on the track chad xx

and andy you did really well to the lambo was only 2 sec quicker and you pulled away from that v8 super ute that was funny

well i think you did really well for your first time out on the track chad xx

and andy you did really well to the lambo was only 2 sec quicker and you pulled away from that v8 super ute that was funny

Gotta remember that ute has restrictions for its class........

chads 284 awkw, andy is 400 awkw

was gonna say Andrews must be 400kw or more!! Our Celica was on the dyno at Boostworx that morning before we came and only pulled 185kw, think we ran a 1:18 that day with only 25psi oil pressure......lol

^^^^^^ caorse it is worth getting out there. im thinking of taking my beast on the track.. detuned atm its only got 150 kw... good to get it out ya system instead of on the streets

Trust me, it was the best fun i have ever had in my car, never thought i could drift turn 2 in a GTS4, but i pulled it off :D just make sure you have plenty of meat on ya brake pads :blush:

I've raced many different cars at Mallala - including a Hyundai S coupe (????? yep it was slow - 1:32 hehehe) but I ALWAYS had and have fun. one common theme I often hear is that people don't want to go out in their car until it is 'ready' or just one more mod till they are gonna go out - unless your brakes are worn out or there is something safety related, take it out!! If anything you'll have a great time, learn to drive your car properly in the right environment, and it will guide your choice as to next mods. Hell, the performance car game is full of '......I can't wait to get x , then I'll be faster/stop quicker/handle better.......' BTW I ran on Sat with a buggered coilover (seals shot, oil leaked out), and semis on the wear limit and out of heat cycles. Still had a blast as always though :blush:

got a price on the r888, 225/45/17 $400each :)

Might just get some R1R's

You will not need Brand New race rubber, just find some 2nd handies that race guys dont need any more, they will be fine for what you need to do!! Pity you guys weren't out there the prac before......... There was a trailor near the out grid full of 2nd handies!!

Even if you can find some decent 2nd hand race rubber in a 16 to suit stock wheels, they will be much better than new tyres on a 17 or 18, If your on new tyres and they get up to temp then the rubber blocks will feel like shite after a couple hard laps, prob be better running half worn tyres so you dont get so much rubber movement!!

i'm guessing the weeks gallardo is over for the tarmac rally this weekend up in the hills (28-19th)

there is another private track day this thursday for some of the competitors)

Yeh sure is mate, he had his saloon Car out there also, only brought the Lambo out for a session or 2 at the end, He is from SA btw!!

he can sorta drive but has coin and thinks his shite dont smell, All i remember is one year in Classics he had a hot as navigator, and my mate goes up to the car(we were officials) and says "geez mate you have some really nice seat covers" She smiled.......lol

where could i get second hand race rubber from? in a 225 or 235/45/17

Would it be best to just head out there and see if anyone is selling some?

thanks Luke

Hmmmm 17s you say!! well i know the Saloon Cars use Kuhmos and they are a 17 for the AU/VT cars, maybe try ringing up the Kuhmo rep in SA or just ring a tyre joint that seels Kuhmos and get them to give you the dealers number and see if they have any 2nd Handies.

we get our Yokohamas from North Terrace Tyres not sure if they would have any 17s tho as our class doesn't run them, ring them and see tho, they might have something they have taken off another car!!

had such a good time today, most fun i've ever had behind the wheel of a car. Farstest lap i did was a 1.25 on my street tyres. Thanks to Andy for the advise, it definatly helped me. The car ran perfect all day, untill i had a look at my front brakes :)

brakedisc.jpg

could the fracture in the brake rotors be a result of the cold temps at 10am, and a sudden increase in temp when on the track???

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• If as it's stalling, the fuel pressure rises, it's saying there's less vacuum in the intake manifold. This is pretty typical of an engine that is slowing down.   While typically is agree it sounds fuel related, it really sounds fuel/air mixture related. Since the whole system has been refurbished, including injectors, pump, etc, it's likely we've altered how well the system is delivering fuel. If someone before you has messed with the IACV because it needed fiddling with as the fuel system was dieing out, we need to readjust it back. Getting things back to factory spec everywhere, is what's going to help the entire system. So if it idles at 400rpm with no IACV, that needs raising. Getting factory air flow back to normal will help us get everything back in spec, and likely help chase down any other issues. Back on IACV, if the base idle (no IACV plugged in) is too far out, it's a lot harder for the ECU to control idle. The IACV duty cycle causes non linear variations in reality. When I've tuned the idle valves in the past, you need to keep it in a relatively narrow window on aftermarket ecus to stop them doing wild dances. It also means if your base idle is too low, the valve needs to open too much, and then the smallest % change ends up being a huge variation.
    • I guess one thing that might be wrong is the manifold pressure.  It is a constant -5.9 and never moves even under 100% throttle and load.  I would expect it to atleast go to 0 correct?  It's doing this with the OEM MAP as well as the ECU vacuum sensor. When trying to tune the base map under load the crosshairs only climb vertically with RPM, but always in the -5.9 column.
    • AHHHH gotchaa, I'll do that once I am home again. I tried doing the harness with the multimeter but it seems the car needed a jump, there was no power when it was in the "ON" position. Not sure if I should use car battery jump starter or if its because the stuff that has been disconnect the car just does send power.
    • As far as I can tell I have everything properly set in the Haltech software for engine size, injector data, all sensors seem to be reporting proper numbers.  If I change any injector details it doesnt run right.    Changing the base map is having the biggest change in response, im not sure how people are saying it doesnt really matter.  I'm guessing under normal conditions the ECU is able to self adjust and keep everything smooth.   Right now my best performance is happening by lowering the base map just enough to where the ECU us doing short term cut of about 45% to reach the target Lambda of 14.7.  That way when I start putting load on it still has high enough fuel map to not be so lean.  After 2500 rpm I raised the base map to what would be really rich at no load, but still helps with the lean spots on load.  I figure I don't have much reason to be above 2500rpm with no load.  When watching other videos it seems their target is reached much faster than mine.  Mine takes forever to adjust and reach the target. My next few days will be spent making sure timing is good, it was running fine before doing the ECU and DBW swap, but want to verify.  I'll also probably swap in the new injectors I bought as well as a walbro 255 pump.  
    • It would be different if the sealant hadn't started to peel up with gaps in the glue about ~6cm and bigger in some areas. I would much prefer not having to do the work take them off the car . However, the filler the owner put in the roof rack mount cavities has shrunk and begun to crack on the rail delete panels. I cant trust that to hold off moisture ingress especially where I live. Not only that but I have faded paint on as well as on either side of these panels, so they would need to come off to give the roofline a proper respray. My goal is to get in there and put a healthy amount of epoxy instead of panel filler/bog and potentially skin with carbon fiber. I have 2 spare rolls from an old motorcycle fairing project from a few years back and I think it'd be a nice touch on a black stag.  I've seen some threads where people replace their roof rack delete with a welded in sheet metal part. But has anyone re-worked the roof rails themselves? It seems like there is a lot of volume there to add in some threads and maybe a keyway for a quick(er) release roof rack system. Not afraid to mill something out if I have to. It would be cool to have a cross bar only setup. That way I can keep the sleek roofline that would accept a couple bolts to gain back that extra utility  3D print some snazzy covers to hide the threaded section to be thorough and keep things covered when not using the rack.