• Replies 156

RACE 2

1 32 TEAM RACEWORX Duncan Handley Nissan Skyline GTR 2600T 6 11:16.7136 4 1:51.2933

2 55 JOST AUSTRALIA Martin Miller HSV R8 Clubsport 6000 6 11:18.3342 2 1:51.5140

3 7 POLL PERFORMANCE Jim Pollicina HSV GTS Commodore 5664 6 11:18.4688 3 1:51.1021

4 37 EXCELERATE MOTORSPORT / TEMPES Anthony Loscialpo Holden VY GTS Commod 5700 6 11:19.0189 4 1:51.0972*

5 1 AAP & SON RACING Matthew Holt Holden GTS 5700 6 11:20.0384 4 1:51.2444

6 41 ISRI TRUCK SEATS Tony Virag HSV VX GTS 5700 6 11:28.0145 4 1:51.3830

7 20 INTERFREIGHT TRANSPORT SOLUTIO Rod Thorpe Holden R8 Clubsport 5700 6 11:29.9466 4 1:52.9171

8 4 PAUL WILBOW RACING Paul Wilbow Holden VX Commodore 5700 6 11:30.5531 4 1:53.2026

9 3 METALAIR RACING Stephen Kent Holden R8 Clubsport 5700 6 11:31.2958 4 1:52.8672

10 52 ADVANCE TYRE AUTO Dean Kelland Ford AU 4000 6 11:35.1332 4 1:53.8916

11 5 www.phillipsexhaust.com.au Mark Phillips HSV R8 Clubsport 5700 6 11:38.3845 5 1:53.7874

12 79 COXS RD FRUIT MARKET Gus Barbara Holden VK Commodore 5000 6 11:52.7084 3 1:54.5725

13 9 GLENN KENNY RACING Glenn Kenny Holden VP Commodore 3800 6 12:09.8706 2 1:59.3641

14 25 D PANGALOS Dion Pangalos Mazda 626 2500 6 12:13.8962 3 1:59.8566

15 39 PROTECTION DRIVER TRAINING Chris Reeves Proton Satria GTI 1800 6 12:14.1970 4 1:59.8440

DNF 75 STEPHEN AUTO BODY REPAIRS Brian King Holden VK Group A 5000 3 5:53.6061 2 1:54.2879

Race 3

1 32 TEAM RACEWORX Duncan Handley Nissan Skyline GTR 2600T 8 14:59.0141 2 1:50.7500

2 37 EXCELERATE MOTORSPORT / TEMPES Anthony Loscialpo Holden VY GTS Commod 5700 8 15:00.7001 3 1:50.7908

3 55 JOST AUSTRALIA Martin Miller HSV R8 Clubsport 6000 8 15:01.4648 2 1:50.4741*

4 1 AAP & SON RACING Matthew Holt Holden GTS 5700 8 15:07.0673 4 1:50.8242

5 41 ISRI TRUCK SEATS Tony Virag HSV VX GTS 5700 8 15:11.1459 2 1:51.6473

6 20 INTERFREIGHT TRANSPORT SOLUTIO Rod Thorpe Holden R8 Clubsport 5700 8 15:14.9698 2 1:52.1855

7 3 METALAIR RACING Stephen Kent Holden R8 Clubsport 5700 8 15:16.5193 2 1:52.2018

8 4 PAUL WILBOW RACING Paul Wilbow Holden VX Commodore 5700 8 15:20.9681 2 1:52.5462

9 5 www.phillipsexhaust.com.au Mark Phillips HSV R8 Clubsport 5700 8 15:22.4651 3 1:53.2222

10 52 ADVANCE TYRE AUTO Dean Kelland Ford AU 4000 8 15:25.0747 7 1:53.7833

11 75 STEPHEN AUTO BODY REPAIRS Brian King Holden VK Group A 5000 8 15:34.7252 3 1:54.1839

12 9 GLENN KENNY RACING Glenn Kenny Holden VP Commodore 3800 8 16:03.8973 2 1:57.7803

13 79 COXS RD FRUIT MARKET Gus Barbara Holden VK Commodore 5000 8 16:12.4821 3 1:56.2328

14 39 PROTECTION DRIVER TRAINING Chris Reeves Proton Satria GTI 1800 8 16:22.2608 2 1:59.4620

15 7 POLL PERFORMANCE Jim Pollicina HSV GTS Commodore 5664 8 16:32.7453 4 1:52.8790

DNF 25 D PANGALOS Dion Pangalos Mazda 626 2500 2 4:09.2271 2 1:59.7159

Big CONGRATS again buddy. It put a massive smile on my bloody dial.

The 3 of us will sleep very god damn well tonight...

Sorry to hear about the BSM GTR,,, Dave I was so hoping you would get through the weekend as well.

Neil.

Yea Ben race 3 is like a trophy race,,,it's always 2 laps longer than the 1st 2 races. :down::P:banana:

Evil,,,we were told that it holed a piston late in the 2nd race,,,I feel for them,,,I really do.

Team Raceworx has been down that road way toooo many times,,,,I know what it's like and how they feel.

But on a brighter note,,,I got the biggest hug from Kelly after race 2,,,,Thanks Baby it meant a lot,,,shit a brick we were both so stoked.

Neil.

hi all

we had the engine go flat so i pulled off. we did not run 3rd race just in case . we pulled engine out and apart to find a fair bit of detonation on number 4 piston (maybe injector u/s) . did have a little moment on some bodys oil in turn 1 at over 220 kph.

thats racing!!!

dave BSM

ps top job duncan,

Thanks everybody! Its great to finally break through, this is the first race win I've had and to do 2 in one day is amazing.

As most of you know we've been working hard on this car for over 5 years now, especially Kel, Neil and Mark putting heaps of work into it. Today all the blood, sweat and tears paid off in a big way for me - I guess the longer you work on something the more it means when you get there finally.

Eastern Creek is by far the worst track for the skyline, the big power commodores have a big advantage there, and it was damn hot too. I was stoked that I could match it with those guys there, especially considering the cars at the front of the grid are 80K+ builds each (makes my budget look hilarious)

sorry no idea how to use youtube so here is a good quality vid of the start of race 2.

It was interesting.....out of 5th spot I bogged pretty bad. The commodores knew the 4wd was coming and closed the gap (you can see me think about shoving it in then changing my mind lol). Then switch to around the outside around turn 1, brake very (too) late for turn 2 and somehow miss the car in front. Luckily he understeered and gave me half a car gap so I went around the outside in turn 3, 2 wheels on the dirt (sorry Paul). Pretty interesting 50 seconds lol

http://www.hgeconsulting.com.au/race2startsmall.wmv - 13mb

No shit, this car has been built on the driveway....I am over the moon tonight.

Dave glad to see you weren't the cause or affected by the oil on turn 1. The 2 leading cars both went off on it - I run 180 in turn 1 so I hate to think what speed those case were doing when the left the track (I bet it was 40klm/h faster at least)

I hope you get it back together for superlap and the next round at Wakie, I love what you guys are doing taking on that category in such a serious way. Not exactly the same as that nugget we are putting together lol. Hey at least the gearbox made it this time.

I also came across FAT-R34 today he was helping one of the prod sports car guys....hope they went OK too.

Holes and detonated pistons ARE the new spun bearings Duncan!! I suffered the same thing a week ago now the BSM boys have done it too. Dry sumps have fixed bearing problems.

Dave there is a few detonation detecting systems around now that can interface with the motec datalogging. Im looking at one really good unit at the moment which ill be using with the MXL pro to log knock.

Duncan and I were talking about having spare engines on stands ready to go last night. I hope yours is assembled and ready??

Congats on the round win mate. Like I said to you last night its good to see you finally have a strong engine and a good car around it!

As you say loscapilo's dunny dore IS an 80K plus car as is tony Virag's thing. Not an easy feat to beat them around the creek.

Edited by Risking

here is race 1/lap 1 on youtube

and race 2 lap 1

haha Ben you're right I go a bit easier on the launch these days. Remembering it has to run a single plate clutch and deal with 3 full bore standing starts follwed by a 20min race each weekend....I learned last race that there is no point getting a great launch if you have to retire at the end of lap 1 with a burned up clutch. Plus, it seems to work OK still :)

Holes and detonated pistons ARE the new spun bearings Duncan!! I suffered the same thing a week ago now the BSM boys have done it too. Dry sumps have fixed bearing problems.

Dave there is a few detonation detecting systems around now that can interface with the motec datalogging. Im looking at one really good unit at the moment which ill be using with the MXL pro to log knock.

Duncan and I were talking about having spare engines on stands ready to go last night. I hope yours is assembled and ready??

Congats on the round win mate. Like I said to you last night its good to see you finally have a strong engine and a good car around it!

As you say loscapilo's dunny dore IS an 80K plus car as is tony Virag's thing. Not an easy feat to beat them around the creek.

Big well done and big WELL earned. 205 ks yeah right.

Behind every successful man is agod women and no doubt big help from Kel, and Neil to, no doubt over the years. Benm there again to, you get the record fure sure.

Sorry Lofty re engine, rigning it's neck playing with the big boys. Although there is enough time to get it going again for next Sunday? If we can help at all just let me know.