there should be a limit as to how much they can pull apart on you're car at any given time while you are on the road and not at regency.

Its bullshit that they can go pullin shit out left right and centre.

Im yet to have been defected but hav bought standard R31 windows, a standard exhaust, and kept my old shockers and springs for when it happens.

just thought you might be interested in seeing this. Was reading an article on Autospeed and a guy had done this with his Gti-R. Nice little hiding spot - the mirror even hangs down over it ;)

hidden.jpg

I thought that was pretty cool :(

Are external wastegates illegal? If so, why? If they still meet emission tests, are they okay? After all, it's still part of the exhaust system...

Also, I never understood why lowering a car lower than 100mm from the lowest point is illegal? As long as you can still get a full steering wheel lock, all should be fine yeah? As for the excuse "lowering your car means that you will have to brake suddenly over a deep ditch, and so the person behind you may not expect it and rear end you..." that's a load of cr@p. I mean, the person behind should be far away enough to brake safely. Or what about the less competent drivers (eg older drivers > 70) who suddenly brake for no reason, or stop in the middle of a roundabout for no reason??? That's more of a hazzard I reckon!

Timmmayyy, external wastegates that plumb back are not loud, and enter before the cat, in other states they are legal, I would like to know why they are illegal here.

I am not sure about the 100mm thing either, but I could imagine it has something to do with cars so low they bottom out and cause damage to roads. What I cant understand is the 350mm rule from center of wheel to guard - I am pretty sure no VN commodores would pass this one as the rear guard is alot lower than the front over the wheel. And this is an aus built car. Consistancy, it appears there is none. Oh and Renault have been doing the same thing too for years.

Hey Guys.

OK i have a ripper for you.

Being an importer and all i HAVE to deal with these gorillas on a weekly basis.

Now we will start with the ride height at the front which was 4mm under height, then move onto the seat belt which they pulled a thread, therefore its a frayed seat belt, then last and not least and i love this one, the side indicators on this particular car were a different shade of orange, side to side.

I got rejected on these tiny little items. The seat belt was fine i still have it as proof.

I agree something has to be done as it is getting so out of hand. They have basically the power of god over us, and answer to no one. Your right in saying that they have very little engineering experience. I would say less than 5% of them have any at all.

Now it is time something is done about it, but and this is the main problem i see. They will not listen, because they see us as trying to get the rules changed to suit ourselves.

Anyone under the age of 35 is considered an idiot according to these apes.

The police force shouldn't have the power to defect for anything other than tyres or smoke taken away because they are some of the biggest culprits of time wasting i have ever seen in my life. They know NOTHING about the ADR's but are given the power to defect what they think is illegal.

I know how thick, corupt and incompetent some of these ppl are.

On sunday morning i picked a car up from my storage area, loaded my tools into the back, put my trader plate on and proceeded back to my house. Now on anzac hwy, i had 3 officers pull me over on motor bikes. Start telling me they had seen me driving up and down the bay for 30mins, said they recognised me because the car had no front plate. FFS i was on traders, ITS AN IMPORT.

No it gets better. I get abused, told that i am a liar, so i went off, told them to **** off call my dad at the storage yard and ask him exactly when i had left. Then i was told i can't call them liars, so i asked for badge numbers. Well they couldn't back away quick enough.

First of all they cannot dispute my use of my trader plates as i was working, there were visable tools in the car. Second they invented a story to suit themselves. Did not believe it was my plate(its even in my name)

Someone needs to be accountable because these ppl have sooo much power, sooo little knowledge.

Anyways thats my bitch for tonight.

Sorry guys.

Glenn

Hi Glen, some more good stuff there. Its acutally amazing that the likes of HPI or ZOOM hasnt done an expose on these types of antics - they owe their livelyhood to car enthusiats, it would be nice if they could use their powers for good.

Would you be happy to issue a statement to that effect, even if you send me an e-mail. I dont intend on putting names down, but if I have a more formal statement, it gives an submission I render more weight if I can say that I have statement from other car enthusiasts to this effect.

Also, businesses pay more tax than individuals, and as a rule any word of protest from business will carry more weight. No govt.

I hope to start drafting on the weekend. In 1-2 weeks I will run it past the legal section of the Attorney generals office to see how it sits and if they can recommend any amendments to provide more impact.

I am planning on inlcuding any and all instances where HPI and Zoom have drawn attention to possible problems, for example in a recent copy of zoom it published the problems someone had with getting racing harnesses approved, first you could then you couldnt. It stated that for 10 different people at regency, you get 10 different answers. Also, one mag mentioned getting cops try to get heavy handed until they were told they were talking to reporters. Its all good stuff:D

Hopefully, with enough weight of evidence, and a correctly formatted submission, we can at least bring enought attention to this situation that something will be done.

Time to move out of the 20th century and into the 21st, and thank god holden and ford are now mass producing forced induction cars, perhaps it wont be too long before institutionalised wake up and smell the roses.

yea steve i recall the article well where a bloke was getting defected for his 13BT datsun 1600 (green one I think) and they were going to shaft him so hard, until zoom i believe had a reporter/journalist dude on sight who took photo's and recorded all of the police offers actions. The police threatened to do something to him for hindering police business and then he explained to them his rights are a reporter... following this the defect book was put away and all events prior to the reporter stepping in were forgotten about.

Pretty Fkn dodgy.

Hmm, I dont think it would go down too well if we as forum members try and set them up. But I am not sure, because if an investigative journalist were to do it, that sort of thing is ok????

ZOOM, HPI, SPEED (Nino...hehehe) where are you??????

Anybody here been given contradictory informantion from either police or the regency crew?

Perhaps a 'So How Well Does Your Local Inspection Center Know The Rules' article or two? Make it aust wide, with a look at how to go about getting a modified car passed, with lists of goes and no goes.

and comparisons between what gets allowed for home grown cars.

yeah i saw that article too timmay ... funny .. hehehe ... start getting badge numbers ... bring out the recorder and notebook ... i'm sure that if they make one mistake or say something studpid then u can take the defect or infringement to court and it'll be thrown out?? ;)

I met a guy who had a 454 in a HQ monaro, was putting it over regency and had been told it would be no worries. But I never found out if he did.

And Timmmayyy, I did get told that about mods, when I started asking him specifics about mods, he told me to just bring the car down once it is all done.