MzDfectd Posted December 29, 2003 Share Posted December 29, 2003 my brother is considering buying one of these i dont know much about them wat should he look for with the car? good points and bad please? seems to be in a good sort of condition burgandy in colour need to replace the right side headlight cover downside is that its done about 310,000k's are parts easy to find? engine conversions? any info appreciated thanks guys ambs Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest INASNT Posted December 29, 2003 Share Posted December 29, 2003 310,000kms?? wow ex taxi? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-621256 Share on other sites More sharing options...
funkymonkey Posted December 29, 2003 Share Posted December 29, 2003 you should post it up in the R31 Skyline Club, they'd probably know the car itself. I'd say it sounds ok depending on the price. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-621268 Share on other sites More sharing options...
MzDfectd Posted December 29, 2003 Author Share Posted December 29, 2003 you should post it up in the R31 Skyline Club, they'd probably know the car itself.I'd say it sounds ok depending on the price. TA SHAN hes getting it through my work was traded in so going for about $1250. how does that price sound? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-621275 Share on other sites More sharing options...
predator Posted December 29, 2003 Share Posted December 29, 2003 Sounds like a good price - good car on a budget. Parts are easy to find and all mechanics know them pretty well. It was my last car before my R33, had no major problems and was pretty cool for what u get (although didn't look anything flash) Mine was still going strong on 250,000km or so, and many people get about 400,000km out of them - so they're a good workhorse. Go for it as long as the body is shipshape.. if the engine blows should be able to get another one put in for under $1k or so. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-621295 Share on other sites More sharing options...
funkymonkey Posted December 29, 2003 Share Posted December 29, 2003 yeah i reckon 1250 is a good price for your first car... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-621311 Share on other sites More sharing options...
MzDfectd Posted December 29, 2003 Author Share Posted December 29, 2003 its actually his second the first car was cursed and is sittin in our car port with the whole back end smashed in no point fixin it so hes just gonna sell it off as it is i think but yeah he just needs a run around car to get him to and from uni Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-621313 Share on other sites More sharing options...
R31Nismoid Posted December 29, 2003 Share Posted December 29, 2003 1,250 is good. yeah it's got high km's... but as others have said, the RB30 you can get 400,000 out of. I'd be checking the Diff for whine, the Borg Warner is well known for it... and if it is getting noisy then it is on the way out. Other than that, get it checked out etc by a mechanic. Parts are easy to come by so dont worry about 2nd hand parts. It's no Import Skyline or anything and most bits are interchangeable from the motor out of the VL. it'll serve him well if it is in good nick. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-621342 Share on other sites More sharing options...
SKY031 Posted December 29, 2003 Share Posted December 29, 2003 need to replace the right side headlight cover If it's just a cracked cover, then take the left one off. downside is that its done about 310,000k's It's a Skyline.... it can handle it are parts easy to find? Too easy engine conversions? Lots of options, starting with basic NA mods, extractors, pod, exhaust. If he wants to go turbo, then the VL turbo bolt on bits will give him a nice and easy extra 30 to 50rwkw Then if he's still power hungry, there are still places to go. RB25det, RB26det, RB30det......... How much does he want to spend on mods? As far as enginge modifications go, its gotta be one of the easiest to modify. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-621436 Share on other sites More sharing options...
MzDfectd Posted December 29, 2003 Author Share Posted December 29, 2003 thanks for the info guys sounds good!! ill advise him of wat u have all said and get the car checked out asap! OH and hes not really thinking about mods at the moment probably just dump it and zorst i was just asking incase the engine does go wat opions would he have but thanks i got the info i need now Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-621440 Share on other sites More sharing options...
R31Nismoid Posted December 29, 2003 Share Posted December 29, 2003 Motors? Meh, it's a Sky... anything is interchangeable... for the right price Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-621454 Share on other sites More sharing options...
MzDfectd Posted December 29, 2003 Author Share Posted December 29, 2003 i think hes actually interested in going the turbo option.. so any suggestions or info u may have on that would also be appreciated and roughly how much would it cost? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-621458 Share on other sites More sharing options...
THE CHIEF Posted December 29, 2003 Share Posted December 29, 2003 Theres 2 ways The proper way... turbo, zorst strengthen gbox tailshaft fmic bigger brakes etc... Or the dodgy tightass way,., bolt on vlt gear for under 2k and drive it.. wont last long I have done mine all the right way and it aint cheap Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-621472 Share on other sites More sharing options...
makaveli Posted December 30, 2003 Share Posted December 30, 2003 check for any rust in the doors and around the doors also in the wheel arches. they are good cars a mate of mine had one with a shit load of k's and it neva gave any trouble. You could probably get a freshn'd rb30det to put in later on. then it would be CRAZY!!!!!!! hehe take it easy Mark Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-623450 Share on other sites More sharing options...
THE CHIEF Posted December 31, 2003 Share Posted December 31, 2003 RB30's are SOHC not DOHC so if you wanna make a DET its gonna cost $$$$... I think u ment RB30ET Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-623853 Share on other sites More sharing options...
makaveli Posted January 1, 2004 Share Posted January 1, 2004 yes sorry man Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-624102 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zahos Posted January 1, 2004 Share Posted January 1, 2004 look out for rust along the top of he windscreen also the auto boxes in the series 3 skylines were a bit shonky. Most of them don't last. Other than that they are great cars. I had mine for 6 - 7 years, and the whole time the only problem I had was a lown exhaust manifold gasket. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-624120 Share on other sites More sharing options...
R31Heaven Posted January 2, 2004 Share Posted January 2, 2004 I had a Silho before my coupe and was a great car. This is what to look for, noisey Borg Warner diff they need to be rebuilt around the 100,000 k mark as they get a whine up around the 100KPH. I have seen RB30E with 300,000ks and still have hone marks on the bore, if looked after from day one, have been known to get 700,000'ks out of a motor. SerIII Auto never had their bands adjusted properley out of the factory so if it is still running properley would be good to get them checked and set properley. Rust they usualy only have rust if they have been treated like crap thats why the little buggers are all over the place still after 17 years the only reason they end up in Wreckers is due to prangs. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-625400 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest SXY.033 Posted January 5, 2004 Share Posted January 5, 2004 I had exactly the same car (colour and everything) - number plate is not DCW-xxx is it? - Anyway there was a common problem where water would gather at the bottom of the spare wheel and rust right through. Might be something to check. - The borg warner lsd is a bit dodgy - only aussie made part on the whole car apparantly. Only need to worry if its making a whining noise. Is it the series 1 (with the rear bar lights, and front block type headlights)?? - series one came with a 4 speed auto mechanical tranny - while series 2 and 3 came with 4 speed electronic auto. Apart from that - the engine is bulletproof like many others have said. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-628837 Share on other sites More sharing options...
MzDfectd Posted January 5, 2004 Author Share Posted January 5, 2004 I had exactly the same car (colour and everything) - number plate is not DCW-xxx is it?- Anyway there was a common problem where water would gather at the bottom of the spare wheel and rust right through. Might be something to check. - The borg warner lsd is a bit dodgy - only aussie made part on the whole car apparantly. Only need to worry if its making a whining noise. Is it the series 1 (with the rear bar lights, and front block type headlights)?? - series one came with a 4 speed auto mechanical tranny - while series 2 and 3 came with 4 speed electronic auto. Apart from that - the engine is bulletproof like many others have said. its got the round stove top lights ill try get some pics of it to post up looks pretty scmik actually nice two tone colour Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/30690-r31-silhouette/#findComment-628859 Share on other sites More sharing options...