SAU Community

Continuously Blowing The Same Fuse

ECR033

Hoping someone with some auto-electrical knowledge can help me out :rofl:

Over the last few weeks, my car ('97 R33 GTS25t) has developed some sort of minor electrical gremlin that's been causing it to continuously blow the same fuse over and over again (well, I changed it 3 times then gave up). It's a 10a (amp?) fuse and I've tried the follow the wires from the fuse, looking for something odd, not connected or shorting out etc, but everything seems fine (although I admit I'm an absolute novice when it comes to these things and didn't get very far with it, so in all liklihood I've probably missed the problem).

Basically my interior clock and my stereo do not work when the fuse is out and additionally, my climate control unit doesn't switch on automatically on start up (i.e revert to last setting when car was switched off) but I can still turn it on and operate as normal. Everything else seems to be working fine.

Unfortunately the wiring diagram is in Japanese, so I've done a search from English diagrams, but basically the only description I could get was "electrics 10a" which wasn't of much help. The fuse in question is in the dash fuse box, left column, 7th fuse from bottom (i.e first fuse in 2nd section).

Can anyone suggest anything I can do to rectify the problem? Or, alternatively, can anyone recommend a good auto-electrician in the Parramatta/Hills area (Sydney)?

Thanks guys :P

From my experience (over 25 years) as an Auto Elec, over 90% of short circuits, ie blowing fuses, is caused by

people doing something, eg changing stereo, screwing a self tapper unknowingly thru wiring loom, connecting something incorrectly etc, the way wiring looms are run in general cause very few problems..