SAU Community

Pod-filter In An Original Air Box?

Hey fellas,

I really love the sound of the Apexi dry Air Pod but don't want to get done for it (as I have a frontmount) - so has anyone ever put a pod-filter in an enclosed airbox? Is this hard to do?

Also, I plan to get this pod, your thoughts?

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...A:IT&ih=011

Thanks fellas.

Honestly what's the point? The only reason you hear the suction noise with the pod filter is that there's no box to muffle the noise. If you put a pod inside a box, it's going to be like a normal panel filter. When you have a panel filter and forget to tighten up the box, you can hear the suction noise, but when you cover it up, you hear nothing. It's going to be the same with the pod filter.

Edit: I've never done it before, but you asked for thoughts so I just gave you mine. :P

Edited by adam-__-

Honestly what's the point? The only reason you hear the suction noise with the pod filter is that there's no box to muffle the noise. If you put a pod inside a box, it's going to be like a normal panel filter. When you have a panel filter and forget to tighten up the box, you can hear the suction noise, but when you cover it up, you hear nothing. It's going to be the same with the pod filter.

Edit: I've never done it before, but you asked for thoughts so I just gave you mine. :O

Thanks for that Adam... yeah, the main reason I am thinking of going Pod again is due to suction sound which is absolutely awesome on an RB engine. It sounds so good, I absolutely love it. Never thought a Pod Filter can sound so good having having to remove it... I got a stock Air box re-installed due to so many defects notices... but I really love the sound will have to take the risk again.

Only thing is, I don't want the cops to defefect me that's why I'm thinking of getting a Pod - but I guess what you said makes some sense... any way of making the Pod legal? As I already have a front mount.

Cheers,