My mechanic used nail polish.

Have the t/b's in the closed position, apply the polish around the edge of the butterfly, on the side that the butterfly moves away from the seal, leave for a few hours then just open the throttle bodies.

thats interesting.. will definately have to remember that

Hey Guys thanks for the replies, much appreciated. Mechanic told me when I picked it up that the inside of the throttle bodies was terrible, and that he used carby cleaner and a brush to remove the gunk/sludge which was about 0.5m thick, yeah sounds like taken the sealing off. I rang nissan and its $1k for a new set of throttle bodies with the linkages as well (not for me but the mechanic to get). Can I ask GTRGeoff what brand your special brand of blue silicone is??? I also ran compressed air through the intake and no leaks anywhere, it also has a slight backfire with closed throttle while decelerating which meas air is getting in.

Just lob into autobarn or supercheap and look on the shelves for the ultra blue gasket. Nail polish sounds good, but becomes very hard and may not adhere very well if some fuel gets backfired into the throttles or some oiling of the intake occurs through the crankcase return.

got any pics geoff? its about time someone came up with a fix for this problem.....

incidently the workshop manual doesnt say anything about not cleaning the throttles either. but every time i hear about a gtr with a high idle it turns out to be someone has cleaned the throttle bodies

hey mate!

I had this exact problem last time i did a rebuild on my rb26dett. You'd think that cleaning out the throttle bodies would do a world of difference but its totally opposite. Although they look really dirty i just don't touch them now. You can clean the gasket surfaces but not the bore where the butterfly seals on. Yes they do use some sort of sealing compound in the factory to minimize this idle problem.

If your from Sydney i know that SAS out at silverwater fixed mine up, They have that sealant out there. Doesn't take long just take the throttle bodies out there

Next time try not to clean the bores out :thumbsup:

"doesnt take long to pull the throttles out" Are you kidding! Or have you never done it, to R&R its a full day job

I think he means that it doesn't take too long for SAS to reapply the sealant to the t/b's, and was not referring to the task of removing the t/b's from the engine.

wish i seen this info 2 days ago.

just cleaned the throttle body on my R33 gts-t.

my car always idles high and fluctuates. but after cleaning t/b it doesnt fluctuate, justs idles at 1500 and after driving 2500!. i adjusted my tps and managed to drop idle to 1000-1100 which i can handle... for now...

with this blue gasket sealant idea... wouldnt you risk blocking the small hole you can see infront of the butterfly... iv noticed the hole inside the t/b leads air to the top right of the t/b into a piece of vac hose that goes onto piping located on the bottom of the crossover which leads to the charcoal cannister.

The blue sealant lasts for years in other applications. You have to be very sparing for joining the interfaces between components and likewise the throttles. I recall Ben at Racepace Melbourne prefers the blue instead of paper gaskets as well.

Thanks Geoff, I just came back from the mechanic and its going in again on friday, I told him that hes prob going to need to reseal the TB,s with gasket sealer and he said no worries I actually have some teflon stuff, so I hope all goes well. Now it seems the car is going into saftey mode, not all the time just ocasionally when I am driving which prob mens its knocking or something is playing up?? think I will have to put the restrictor back in the actuator and wait til I get a Power fc. There is no way to get the codes from a 33GTR without a consult cable?? ahh why cant the car run without problems. I was hoping to get some 2860r -7 soon too. Anyone know when the GTR will hit saftey boost??????

wish i seen this info 2 days ago.

just cleaned the throttle body on my R33 gts-t.

my car always idles high and fluctuates. but after cleaning t/b it doesnt fluctuate, justs idles at 1500 and after driving 2500!. i adjusted my tps and managed to drop idle to 1000-1100 which i can handle... for now...

with this blue gasket sealant idea... wouldnt you risk blocking the small hole you can see infront of the butterfly... iv noticed the hole inside the t/b leads air to the top right of the t/b into a piece of vac hose that goes onto piping located on the bottom of the crossover which leads to the charcoal cannister.

I am pretty sure this does not apply to GTSTs.

Sounds like you have an air leak elsewhere

Dropped car off this morning and picked it up this arvo, still having issues but they are trying to get me to replace the AAC unit, they believe it to be a loose spring. I was thinking that yeah maybe possible but then I thought if the car was leaking in air around the TB initially (which it certainly was) And it was idleing nice when it went in, then sealing the TB with gaskets should cause it to drop in idle not raise it. I knew it wouldnt be fixed today. So now tomorrow it needs to go back, I wish I thought a little quicker when I was there to think of this.

Now if they refuse to take it apart I am just going to do it myself, now for anyone who has done this. I remove the TB and then paint a circle around the TB on the side closest to the engine, let it dry, cut and open TB and reinstall.

The top half of the t/b's need to be "painted" on one side and the bottom half on the other. The butterly has to move away from the seal, not scrap over it.

Can't understand why you're giving up so easily. Tell then, if they want to replace the AAC valve you're happy to let them do so and pay for it; after you have seen that it fixes the problem. If the problem is not fixed, they could keep the AAC valve and do what they have been told.

Thanks AI, I am just so annoyed and impatient with things, I just want it fixed. I hate driving the car if there is something wrong with it as it just frustrates me. Yeah thats a good point, I have holidays for the next two weeks so it would be nice to get it fixed in the time off. Will let you know. Appreciate the support.

Ben

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• See if you can thermal epoxy a heatsink or two onto it?
    • The other problem was one of those "oh shit we are going to die moments". Basically the high spec Q50s have a full electric steering rack, and the povo ones had a regular hydraulic rack with an electric pump.  So couple of laps into session 5 as I came into turn 2 (big run off now, happily), the dash turned into a christmas tree and the steering became super heavy and I went well off. I assumed it was a tyre failure so limped to the pits, but everything was OK. But....the master warning light was still on so I checked the DTCs and saw – C13E6 “Heat Protection”. Yes, that bloody steering rack computer sitting where the oil cooler should be has its own sensors and error logic, and decided I was using the steering wheel too much. I really appreciated the helpful information in the manual (my bold) POSSIBLE CAUSE • Continuing the overloading steering (Sports driving in the circuit etc,) “DATA MONITOR” >> “C/M TEMPERATURE”. The rise of steering force motor internal temperature caused the protection function to operate. This is not a system malfunction. INSPECTION END So, basically the electric motor in the steering rack got to 150c, and it decided to shut down without warning for my safety. Didn't feel safe. Short term I'll see if I can duct some air to that motor (the engine bay is sealed pretty tight). Long term, depending on how often this happens, I'll look into swapping the povo spec electric/hydraulic rack in. While the rack should be fine the power supply to the pump will be a pain and might be best to deal with it when I add a PDM.
    • And finally, 2 problems I really need to sort.  Firstly as Matt said the auto trans is not happy as it gets hot - I couldn't log the temps but the gauge showed 90o. On the first day I took it out back in Feb, because the coolant was getting hot I never got to any auto trans issues; but on this day by late session 3 and then really clearly in 4 and 5 as it got hotter it just would not shift up. You can hear the issue really clearly at 12:55 and 16:20 on the vid. So the good news is, literally this week Ecutek finally released tuning for the jatco 7 speed. I'll have a chat to Racebox and see what they can do electrically to keep it cooler and to get the gears, if anything. That will likely take some R&D and can only really happen on track as it never gets even warm with road use. I've also picked up some eye wateringly expensive Redline D6 ATF to try, it had the highest viscosity I could find at 100o so we will see if that helps (just waiting for some oil pan gaskets so I can change it properly). If neither of those work I need to remove the coolant/trans interwarmer and the radiator cooler and go to an external cooler....somewhere.....(goodbye washer reservoir?), and if that fails give up on this mad idea and wait for Nissan to release the manual 400R
    • So, what else.... Power. I don't know what it is making because I haven't done a post tune dyno run yet; I will when I get a chance. It was 240rwkw dead stock. Conclusion from the day....it does not need a single kw more until I sort some other stuff. It comes on so hard that I could hear the twin N1 turbos on the R32 crying, and I just can't use what it has around a tight track with the current setup. Brakes. They are perfect. Hit them hard all day and they never felt like having an issue; you can see in the video we were making ground on much lighter cars on better tyres under brakes. They are standard (red sport) calipers, standard size discs in DBA5000 2 piece, Winmax pads and Motul RBF600 fluid, all from Matty at Racebrakes Sydney. Keeping in mind the car is more powerful than my R32 and weighs 1780, he clearly knows his shit. Suspension. This is one of the first areas I need to change. It has electronically controlled dampers from factory, but everything is just way too soft for track work even on the hardest setting (it is nice when hustling on country roads though). In particular it rolls into oversteer mid corner and pitches too much under hard braking so it becomes unstable eg in the turn 1 kink I need to brake early, turn through the kink then brake again so I don't pirouette like an AE86. I need to get some decent shocks with matched springs and sway bars ASAP, even if it is just a v1 setup until I work out a proper race/rally setup later. Tyres. I am running Yoko A052 in 235/45/18 all round, because that was what I could get in approximately the right height on wheels I had in the shed (Rays/Nismo 18x8 off the old Leaf actually!). As track tyres they are pretty poor; I note GTSBoy recently posted a porker comparo video including them where they were about the same as AD09.....that is nothing like a top line track tyre. I'll start getting that sorted but realistically I should get proper sized wheels first (likely 9.5 +38 front and 11 +55 at the rear, so a custom order, and I can't rotate them like the R32), then work out what the best tyre option is. BTW on that, Targa Tas had gone to road tyres instead of semi slicks now so that is a whole other world of choices to sort. Diff. This is the other thing that urgently needs to be addressed. It left massive 1s out of the fish hook all day, even when I was trying not too (you can also hear it reving on the video, and see the RPM rising too fast compared to speed in the data). It has an open diff that Infiniti optimistically called a B-LSD for "Brake Limited Slip Diff". It does good straight line standing start 11s but it is woeful on the track. Nismo seem to make a 2 way for it.
    • Also, I logged some data from the ECU for each session (mostly oil pressures and various temps, but also speed, revs etc, can't believe I forgot accelerator position). The Ecutek data loads nicely to datazap, I got good data from sessions 2, 3 and 4: https://datazap.me/u/duncanhandleyhgeconsultingcomau/250813-wakefield-session-2?log=0&data=7 https://datazap.me/u/duncanhandleyhgeconsultingcomau/250813-wakefield-session-3?log=0&data=6 https://datazap.me/u/duncanhandleyhgeconsultingcomau/250813-wakefield-session-4?log=0&data=6 Each session is cut into 3 files but loaded together, you can change between them in the top left. As the test sessions are mostly about the car, not me, I basically start by checking the oil pressure (good, or at least consistent all day). These have an electrically controlled oil pump which targets 25psi(!) at low load and 50 at high. I'm running a much thicker oil than recommended by nissan (they said 0w20, I'm running 10w40) so its a little higher. The main thing is that it doesn't drop too far, eg in the long left hand fish hook, or under brakes so I know I'm not getting oil surge. Good start. Then Oil and Coolant temp, plus intercooler and intake temps, like this: Keeping in mind ambient was about 5o at session 2, I'd say the oil temp is good. The coolant temp as OK but a big worry for hot days (it was getting to 110 back in Feb when it was 35o) so I need to keep addressing that. The water to air intercooler is working totally backwards where we get 5o air in the intake, squish/warm it in the turbos (unknown temp) then run it through the intercoolers which are say 65o max in this case, then the result is 20o air into the engine......the day was too atypical to draw a conclusion on that I think, in the united states of freedom they do a lot of upsizing the intercooler and heat exchanger cores to get those temps down but they were OK this time. The other interesting (but not concerning) part for me was the turbo speed vs boost graph: I circled an example from the main straight. With the tune boost peaks at around 18psi but it deliberately drops to about 14psi at redline because the turbos are tiny - they choke at high revs and just create more heat than power if you run them hard all the way. But you can also see the turbo speed at the same time; it raises from about 180,000rpm to 210,000rpm which the boost falls....imagine the turbine speed if they held 18psi to redline. The wastegates are electrically controlled so there is a heap of logic about boost target, actual boost, delta etc etc but it all seems to work well