For those of you that can remember that far back my engine is finally in the mid stages of its rebuild. :D The bottom end is apart as we speak.

No:1 was the culprit! Major ringland damage. It failed (180km/h in 4th) & yet it took 3 or 4 more drives before the problem showed itself.

Now for the big one.... ZERO traces of leanness, the engine builder firmly believes that too much timing was the cause. Food for thought. Don't ask me how much timing (static & ECU) the motor was running cause it's been so long that I can't bloody remember.

Rods are all good as is the head & valves etc...

Once the motor is run in, in go the 550's & hopefully we'll see ~280-300rwkw on 18-20psi. Wishful thinking perhaps, but I believe the turbo is capable. James (engine builder) thinks 300rwkw. 260+ & I'll be happy.

Unfortunately it will still have to go to a new owner early next yr.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22935-my-rebuild/

I paid 36,000 Yen plus shipping (at 0.63 exchange rate), which worked out to be $590...

At current exchange rate it's about $480, so I guess I'd let it go for that?

Let me know what you think.

[email protected]

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22935-my-rebuild/#findComment-492263

Hip,

I'd love to keep it mate :( It's either the car or her (well something like that). Ahhh... I'll miss her :)

Andrew,

Thanks for the offer dude, but o'ringing & a stock gasket is the way I'm going. Someone will snap it up quick for that price.

Joel,

Yeah it's been a looong time coming! :P Yeah I've still got the Sigma mate, I just rang outta' room to list her. The Liberty is much nicer on surf trips that's for sure.

Jase,

RPM Performance Centre are handling the basics (Tim will be doing the post run in tune) & James from Nisspeed is doing the rebuild.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22935-my-rebuild/#findComment-492467

G'day J,

Yeah good mate, yourself? As you can probably tell I'm a part timer on here these days (I'm more of a surfer than a car hoon nowdays:))

Still going to be using the trusty T3/T4. I've never pushed much more than 1.0bar through it & Vince Rigoli said it was good for 20psi no prob's. I guess we'll soon see on the dyno. Going from 13 to 14 to 15psi it has always made more power without a drama.

If it doesn't make 280+ I won't be fazed, 260+ is still fine. I'm just looking forward to being able to go past the magical 1.0bar mark without fear of failure.

I've got a few minor exhaust changes that should help a touch too.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22935-my-rebuild/#findComment-492560

Matt, how come you cant go past 1bar?

I have been running 1.2 with the new turbo and no problems except for lack of traction (which was really starting to shit me so I turned down the boost for a while - sideways in fourth gear at 120kmh, never tried to see what happens in fifth - too scared:D) The car was actually showing less knock with the new turbo than with the stock one. Hmm perhaps its the 11.8:1 af ratios or the fact that the tuner said he pulled a heap of timing?

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22935-my-rebuild/#findComment-493056

Arggggggggghhhh... Don't you hate it went your 11mth old little girl hits keyboard wildly & wipes the whole post you've just type up!!!

I'll try again,

Steve,

It isn't a lack of faith in the stock internals that stopped me running more boost. I've always been limited by the stock 370cc'ers. Even with the 044 pump & Malpassi reg (+raised f/pressure) I hit 'max duty' on the Microtech logger @ ~16-17psi. For this reason I self imposed a limit of ~1.0bar for safety sake. Didn't help me though :( Mind you it appears the failure was timing NOT fuel related.

Seeing as how I had to rebuild the motor I may as well set it up to cope with a bit more power :P

Now that I have Sard 550's going in the fuel system will allow for much higher boost levels, as will the lower compression.

The idea is to run the new motor in on the stock 370's & current tune (not a very good idea to try & totally retune a fresh engine with bigger inj) then fit the 550's & wind up the boost to see what it can make with a good safety margin.

Time for you to get some RE540S's mate. I have fond memories of straight line 110km/h wheelspin with average road rubber :D But a car that can't put down its ponies until 3rd gets to be a pain in the arse after a while. Good rubber makes such a difference! All of a sudden I could use WOT in 2nd again (not when cold though!)

11.8 AFR & converative timing is a v/good way to go.

skip,

I'm a bit crazy, love my car & I make ok money, but it's still not enough to keep up the habit & do all the other things a family man does :(

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22935-my-rebuild/#findComment-493221

skipppy, the way I look at it is I spend my money on what gives me the most enjoyment.

Doesnt matter if you are putting down 150 or 450rwkw. Everybody is different. No matter how much you spend on a car, there will always be someone who can/will spend more - the main thing is to enjoy what you got which isnt hard with a skyline:D

If you want to get out of it cheap, buy whatsisnames car as anything under 45K will be saving you money if you have to do it yourself;) I still cant believe you are selling it.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22935-my-rebuild/#findComment-493730

G'day Lachlan, it's been a while mate!

I've not spoken with Tim in aaaages so it'll be interesting to see what he thinks re the timing thing. One thing I do know is that the timing map was not as per Tim's tune when the engine let go, not hugely different but enough to potentially cause a problem.

Steve,

Nitto's are the go if straight lines are your thing. 540's are a v/good 2nd option that are awesome on dry road! Hmmm... naaa can't think of anyone with 255/40/17 540's that could swap :D

I still can't believe I'll be selling either.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22935-my-rebuild/#findComment-493878