SAU Community

Master Power Turbos ?

I'm no turbo expert. It seems strange that race teams in the US are building big hp engines with top dollar internals and then bolting on what seems like a cheaper budget turbo. Some of these are making 1200hp, running big boost, pulling 8 second quarters and are happy with the performance and reliability of the Master Power turbos.

Supposedly several years ago a Chinese company sold a batch of cheaper knock offs and it has tarnished the genuine products name. This makes it hard to find reliable feed back as a majority of people in the US are extremely happy with the turbos. Some have done 30, 000 - 50, 000 miles and over 50 full passes on the strip with no issues miles while others won't touch them maybe because of the knock offs bad reputation.

It is reported that Master Power has been making turbos since 1966 and have one of the most modern manufacturing facilities available (video of factory below). It would be great to hear from anyone in Australia who has run the genuine turbo.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CfQks3Yu6Gk

I'm no turbo expert. It seems strange that race teams in the US are building big hp engines with top dollar internals and then bolting on what seems like a cheaper budget turbo. Some of these are making 1200hp, running big boost, pulling 8 second quarters and are happy with the performance and reliability of the Master Power turbos.

If by "cheaper" you mean not over priced, then yes. People need to get out of the mindset Garrett (including 3x as expensive re badged HKS crap) is the only good turbo out there. I'm not knocking garrett. GT series are great turbo's. There are turbo's that perform just as well if not better with the same reliability and probably better, that are a lot cheaper to buy/rebuild. I would love a GT40, but I wouldn't pay for one.