SAU Community

P0840 Pressure Sensor Fail

jona1986

Need help in this guys. Was driving normally a few days ago and suddenly the light comes on in dashboard. Gears limited to 1 3 5 but not top speed limit. Talked to a few people and was told that Dodson and Willall both supply the sensors to fix the issue.

Problem is, I am from Melbourne. So it comes down to only two choices:

1. Tow the car to either Willall in Adelaide or Just Jap Auto (Dodson dealer) in NSW. This way is safe but I have never towed a car to other states. Obviously cost factor is going to be higher and its also troublesome somehow (I am really busy).

2. Purchase the sensor part from either Willall or Dodson and find a skilled local workshop. But I have no idea who has experience (thats why i am asking...) or should be skilled enough to have their first go. I favor this more as it would make my life so much easier.

So, I am hoping if anyone here could give me some advices... Pretty sure I am not the first person who encountered this problem in Victoria and hopefully someone could share their experience with me. It seems to be not the end of the world job and just need a skilled workshop to change the plug and play sensor (if I am not wrong from my research).

Got two questions here:

1. Does anyone know how the job is done? Drop the whole gearbox or just part of it? Gear box oil to be flushed as well? Any others?

2. Is there anyone who has done the fix in Melbourne? Was it successful? Where was it done? Cost factors?

3. Is there anyone who has towed their car to Willall from Melbourne? Around how much was the damage in dollars including the labour, parts and towing fee?

4. If by any chance I am going to try to do it in a work shop in Melbourne? Any recommendations? MPC? Techsport?