SAU Community

Hello - Quick Newbie Questions!

amfony

hello,

like the title says im all newb,

3 questions.

1.) What is a 'dump pipe' in the scheme of forced induction systems?

2.) The use of extractors in forced induction systems? Worthwhile? Only with full exhaust system? whats the deal there.

3.) And i am in the process of purchasing a full exhaust system, but i 'assume' i need somehow alter the back bar to allow the tip to not be dragging on the floor. Can this be done at the same place where i am gettin the exhaust installed? does this need to be done at a fibreglass place?

Please educate me! thank you everyone.

FYI - i am a relative newbie to performance and modification, i have a r33 95 gts-25t which i had for a year, but am only recently pulling my finger out and doing something worthwhile.

Thanks again!

well firstly, a dump pipe will allow the turbo to spool up a little quicker and let the exhaust system breath better up top. A split dump pipe is the way togo so. You will also need a highflo cat to match your exhaust system if your going for a perfomance upgrade. Otherwise the standard compliance cat will be severly restricting things and it will be little use upgrading the whole system. You wont need to modify your rear bar at all. Depends on the type of tip you end up getting also. Note, it is actually illegal to have your exhaust pointing out on an angle. Although most have it on a slight angle. BUt still depends on the tip.

I would just leave the manifold standard. A waste of money unless your chasing massive amounts of power, which it sounds like your only after slightly more power than you have now.

Contact BATMBL on these forums, well i think thats it, and he can help you out with a dump pipe and cat.

There are a heap of cat bat exhausts to get also. Or get a custom one made up.

Good luck

well in respect to the exhaust and high flo cat its a package system, so i assume it would be a high flocat or is this not the case.