R31 (s3) Rb20/30det Conversion

180boi

have a 1990 r31 series 3 skyline. bought it as a temp car after my 180 but have sort of grown attached to it though it needs some attention. i have decided an rb20/30det conversion is my easiest option. firstly what do i need to purchase to get this going eg do i need a new gearbox. second can anyone refer me to someone in eastern victoria who can do the job resonably cheap and im willing to help out. and which will be easier to get engineers certs for 20 or 30?

RB20DET will be far easier than a RB30DET, especially considering a RB30DET isnt a factory option in the series so it gets VERY tricky.

Talk to a VASS engineer before the conversion to see what their requirements are (gearbox, mounts etc etc).

http://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/Home/RoadSa...ficatesVASS.htm

They will guide you in the right direction :)

k so i have founda potential rb20det i now need someone to put it in, i dont wanna pay a fortune for this but i will pay a decent amount and i will help. looknig for someone who has done this as that would be very helpful.

what are the legalities of bolting VLT stuff to the NA RB30 block that he has?

supposed to be good for about 200rwkw and punchy due to the higher compression.

budget too.

Don't bother, that’s just a temporary setup that will end up taking up too much time, and in the end cost you more money.

At least use a turbo bottom end RB30ET, the heads are the same I am pretty sure, but the turbo compression is slightly lower, obviously.

I'm pretty sure the rods are the same too, and s2 blocks have provision for the oil drain..

Edited by abu

what are the legalities of bolting VLT stuff to the NA RB30 block that he has?

supposed to be good for about 200rwkw and punchy due to the higher compression.

budget too.

Legally you'd be able to get away with it.

If you used all the turbo gear, there is really no way anyone will know you have a N/A motor gone --> turbo.

Its actually the cheapest/best option aswell.

Motor has a bit more compression, so as long as you use good fuel it will be fine for 200rwkw without a drama.

Plenty of people i know have done it and works really well

ABU - I don't see how it's temporary.

High compression motor not designed for boost.

It couldn't possibly last as long, or be half as reliable as a factory turbo motor.

Why doesn't he just buy an RB30ET complete motor, they are cheap enough.

9.0:1 is not high compression.

it is far better than 7.something : 1 of the stock VLT motor.

RB25det is 9.0:1 as well.

buying the motor is cheap enough.

putting it in and getting around the rego details is not.

and in the end, you have spent more on it to just get a stock RB30et in there..

buying the tubo parts off a VLT motor is much cheaper and you have a better package when all bolted up.

Edited by GTST

High compression motor not designed for boost.

It couldn't possibly last as long, or be half as reliable as a factory turbo motor.

Why doesn't he just buy an RB30ET complete motor, they are cheap enough.

Your talking about a "high comp" motor from 1987 there mate.

The fuels back then were far below that which we have today.

Its perfectly OK to turbo the RB30E, using good ole 98 PULP.

They last fine, run perfectly, and i think a few are even up into 250rwkw without a worry in the world.

Ive been thinking for a while of just getting a daily with a RB30e, running 100 v-power and i reckon i could rattle off 270rwkw safely no problem.

And its damn cheap to do it aswell.

GTST - :unsure:

9.0:1 is not high compression.

it is far better than 7.something : 1 of the stock VLT motor.

RB25det is 9.0:1 as well.

buying the motor is cheap enough.

putting it in and getting around the rego details is not.

and in the end, you have spent more on it to just get a stock RB30et in there..

buying the tubo parts off a VLT motor is much cheaper and you have a better package when all bolted up.

I'm pretty sure the comperssion of an RB30ET motor is 8.5:1.. but the RB25DET is 9.0:1 as you said.

An NA motor RB30E motor, with how many km's you reckon it has on it? 180,000 odd? How long is it going to last with boost running through it pushing 200rwkw..

I have also seen a few RB30E running turbo setups, but most have failed!

I don't know, just my experience and thoughts. I don't believe NA to turbo conversions are worth the trouble, having done it before, and also reading about others experiences.

Of course you get the odd one that works and holds up, but for how long?

Good luck with it either way.

Abu

Edited by abu

I don't see why it would break under boost. Bearing in mind that with a higher compression, you don't need as much boost to make the same power. Also keep the rev limit safe and the block should handle it fine. Plenty of people are running stock bottom end RB30ET's and RB30DET's at 9:1 no problems.

no need to go any further in to it as you have your mind set about it..

I agree with waht nismoid said..

I was also looking for a daily R31 to do that to a while back.. but I couldn't get one with RWC and rego in the price range I wanted to spend..

So ended up with a corolla as the run around car.

Also, what the hell happened to FATS S13 RB30E+T?

he bolted a stock RB30E in to an S13 with bogan bonnet scoop.

bolted a KKR430? turbo to it?

aparently it chirps seconds.. but nothing else was heard.

I'm pretty sure the comperssion of an RB30ET motor is 8.5:1.. but the RB25DET is 9.0:1 as you said.

An NA motor RB30E motor, with how many km's you reckon it has on it? 180,000 odd? How long is it going to last with boost running through it pushing 200rwkw..

I have also seen a few RB30E running turbo setups, but most have failed!

I don't know, just my experience and thoughts. I don't believe NA to turbo conversions are worth the trouble, having done it before, and also reading about others experiences.

Of course you get the odd one that works and holds up, but for how long?

Good luck with it either way.

Abu

Just onto: r31skylineclub.com

You'll find enough people running RB30E+T setups that have been running for ages, it will change your opinion quite quickly :unsure:

The setups that failed, probably had something wrong from the outset, poor tune, fuel pump not upgraded. Small things that lead to a motor failure.

Just onto: r31skylineclub.com

You'll find enough people running RB30E+T setups that have been running for ages, it will change your opinion quite quickly :P

The setups that failed, probably had something wrong from the outset, poor tune, fuel pump not upgraded. Small things that lead to a motor failure.

Used to have a VL turbo so spent enough time on calaisturbo.com.au :unsure:

Yep some work some don't. Sometimes things go smoothly other times it fails miserably.

Ah well! All the best anyways.

Thanks guys :)

Abu

hEY i'm puttin in a rb30det in my 31,

But i'm spending 20k on it.

Blue printed block, race ported 26 head.

Once u start a build like this it gets real expensive quickly...

Goin a to4z, max boost at 4000rpm.

Grub screwed block etc tomei pump $$$$$, mahle forgies $$$$, autronics $$$$$, MSD $$$$$

25 box$$$, motorsport clutch n fly $$$$$ heaps of others like full length crank collar, injectors, oil cooler, intercooler. I started now so not stoppin :unsure:

Just go a 25 with boost n cams 400hp.

spend the rite $$$ in the rite places...

Otherwise u'll be like me, on the corner servising ol'ladies lmao...

hEY i'm puttin in a rb30det in my 31,

But i'm spending 20k on it.

Blue printed block, race ported 26 head.

Once u start a build like this it gets real expensive quickly...

Goin a to4z, max boost at 4000rpm.

Grub screwed block etc tomei pump $$$$$, mahle forgies $$$$, autronics $$$$$, MSD $$$$$

25 box$$$, motorsport clutch n fly $$$$$ heaps of others like full length crank collar, injectors, oil cooler, intercooler. I started now so not stoppin :unsure:

Just go a 25 with boost n cams 400hp.

spend the rite $$$ in the rite places...

Otherwise u'll be like me, on the corner servising ol'ladies lmao...

wtf lol

You went off tap. Is that your R31 in your display pic?

If so very very nice!

Yeh thats my beast, looks even better now.

Full cage, fixed bride seat, 2way KAAZ diff etc ....

Spent a bit but look at the car, its actually a AUTECH skyline.

Very rare fitted with the silhouette racing kit from factory.

i love my 31, doesnt cheat on ya, or answer back lmao.

Any comments let me no...