SAU Community

Advice Needed With Tig

Medium Dave

Hey guys, I am fairly new to this TIG welding so my apologies for the rubbish terminology, but I am trying to weld a subframe which is 2mm mild steel to a 3mm thick plate on the back of my clubman and it is going well for the most part, but there is a section thet is a T intersection where the weld puddle is bubbling, and the bubbles are going through the weld. I have tried grinding away all the bad weld and cleaning it with the wire wheels, resharpening the tungsten and trying again, but it happend again! it is happening over about 2inches and either side I can weld ok, I am using a pretty simple welder set at about 100amps. Any ideas how to clean that weld off and get it welded properly? thnaks in advance

are you wiping the material down with anything first?

i have used metho, and allowed alot of flash time. but i found acetone works better with lower flashing time between cleaning it and welding.

What gas are you using also?

and have you got the leads set up right? earth lead into positive and torch lead into negative. also what size tungsten tip are you using?

Edited by QWK32

Whoops, got busted indoors and immediatly handed a vaccum cleaner :nyaanyaa:

I say 100A but I do admit it is a pretty cheap setup, so its probably imperial amps, but I am usually getting a nice clean weld, but this one is like when you blow bubbles in milk through a straw (on reflection a picture would be handy) not spitting tho,

I have not tried cleaning it, I will grind & clean it out again and have a go with some metho I have handy. Using pure argon.

Leads are set up ok, and 1.6mm tungsten, most of the space frame is 1.5mm rhs, I have done some welding with the 2-3mm plate which has come up ok, its just over about 5cm :yucky:

Thanks guys