SAU Community

My 1980 C210 Skyline Fresh From Japan

Sukh

Hi guys, new to the scene. Just picked up a C210 Skyline from Japan, currently waiting for a boat to come to me in Vancouver Canada. Appreciate if anyone can point me in the direction of some useful info on this car like i say I'm very new to this stuff.

It has L20ET motor in it with about 140,000kms rest is what you see is what you get.

I'm in JNC forums under the same name, not too much info on c210 and L20ET's seem that there is more on here tho. How are these motors relialbility wise?

photo1-1.jpg

photo2-1.jpg

photo3.jpg

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Looks like a nice little pick up from the pics, well done!

The L20ET is very strong for it's design parameters, but remember the technology is 30+ years old. They can benefit enormously if allowed to breath better. If you can get yourself either an non intercooled FJ20ET turbo with the 0.63 rear housing (a direct replacement & no mods required) or an RB20DET turbo (more modern technology) & slightly larger injectors from an S130 280ZX Turbo (265cc) Z31 300ZX turbo (270cc) both hose tail connected & a direct replacement to your stockies and increase the boost marginally, (stay under a bar for some reliability) you will experience quite a bit of difference.

Factory spec on the L20ET is 104Kw at the flywheel & a loss of about 25% through the drivetrain is about normal, so 78Kw at the wheels is about you factory standard spec, yet with the few little mods I have suggested you could be looking at about 120Kw (about 160HP) at the wheels, which represents about a 50% improvement.