SAU Community

2008 Skyline 370gt auto doesn't start

G-noob

Hi guys

A car noob here and i am having trouble trying to start my 370gt. Purchased one year ago and it had been a smooth sailing until now. This afternoon, I tried to start the car, the engine seemed trying to start but somehow it didn't hold. As you can see from this youtube video I uploaded 

https://youtu.be/wlh5r4GBoCg

As you can see, the dashboard and interior light were on and there wasn't "submachine gun" sound coming with dead battery as well. So far I changed the key fob battery, insert the key into the key slot, didn't work. 

It had been a long day so I ended up leaving the car in my office basement and will get back there tomorrow morning and try to sort something out. So any suggestion of the causes or solutions are greatly appreciated

Thank you all and have a good day. 

They do super weird things when the car battery is even the slightest amount flatter than it likes, or is failing/has failed. Try jump starting it with a safe/electrically shielded jumper set, or a plug-in starter/charger pack.

On 2/14/2022 at 7:02 PM, Nightcrawler said:

They do super weird things when the car battery is even the slightest amount flatter than it likes, or is failing/has failed. Try jump starting it with a safe/electrically shielded jumper set, or a plus-in starter/charger pack.

I certainly hope that's the batter, then it would be an easy fix. Will give it a try tomorrow and see what happen. Thank you

Scan tool would be handy to get whatever DTCs are being flagged.

Otherwise, if it is actually trying to kick the starter briefly and then craps out, check battery voltage with a multimeter before and during that cranking. If the battery is in good shape, you should expect around 12.2-12.5V before cranking and no less than about 11V or so during cranking.