Hey guys, I recently bought a 1988 GX R31 Skyline with the RB30E, When i bought it, the condition of the engine want the greatest, i basically have it running perfect now, and have heard of people getting factory turbos to bolt strait on with a VL turbo ECU, Fair enough it might go harder for a little while, but i imagine the engine internals ie. injectors, conrods, camshafts ect, would have been better in the turbo'd models, but just wondering if anyone had converted the N/A RB30 to Turbo, and how cheaply it could be done, thanks guys

Brady

Edited by BradyJ_R31
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/121199-r31-turbo/

pretty depending on your budget.

microtech, 260cc (or larger) injectors, intercooler, dump pipe, exhaust manifold, turbo, decompression plate... not really much else needed.

You could use all vlt parts, but the loom is apparently different, so you would need to use an aftermarket computer (hence microtech), as well as other things.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/121199-r31-turbo/#findComment-2233319

Ok thanx heaps, im goin for my roadworth cert. friday, so after that i can do what i like to it :laugh: i was thinkin of getting involved with drifting, but im in hervey bay qld (bout 3hrs north of brissy) there really is no where to have track days... anyways ill check that site out thanks...oh and whats a good size wheel for the R31, its got 14" stocko's on it atm, im thinkin just 17" but dont know how wide, any help would be appreciated.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/121199-r31-turbo/#findComment-2236268

Wouldn't it be much easier to pop in a new motor IMO?

firstly you'll save more money.

secondly it will be more durable than a N/A motor that has a turbo strapped to it because of factory internals designed to run concurrently with a turbo.

Thirdly R31's motor would be very old and tired and possibly need a rebuild before the turbo goes on. If you were to bolt it on, I believe components of the motor will fail, i.e. BHG, then rings, then pistons, you know what I am going on about..

Drifting?

16x8s, less rolling diametre, more wheel spin, more smoke LOL

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/121199-r31-turbo/#findComment-2236639

Wouldn't it be much easier to pop in a new motor IMO?

firstly you'll save more money.

secondly it will be more durable than a N/A motor that has a turbo strapped to it because of factory internals designed to run concurrently with a turbo.

Thirdly R31's motor would be very old and tired and possibly need a rebuild before the turbo goes on. If you were to bolt it on, I believe components of the motor will fail, i.e. BHG, then rings, then pistons, you know what I am going on about..

Drifting?

16x8s, less rolling diametre, more wheel spin, more smoke LOL

plenty of guys in the RB30DET thread are using the RB30e STOCK bottom end with some having over 200,000 kms on the clock making up to and over 300 rwkw .... so yeah i doubt the rebuild would be neccessary if his current motor is in good condition..

making that sort of power with the SOHC would be more difficult so i'd say the turbo will bolt on fine.

but yeah, anyway

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/121199-r31-turbo/#findComment-2236662

just bolt on the exhaust manifold, t03, oil and water lines for the turbo and injectors from a VLT...all a front mount cooler and a VLt ecu and on premium ulp you can run around 14 psi with no worries.

There is no need for a decomp plate as NA rb30 uses same compression standard as an Rb25det.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/121199-r31-turbo/#findComment-2237139

how much does a whole vlt motor go for? how much would it cost to do the conversion to an rb25 head and turbo it? might be worth considering an rb20... was talkin with a mate the other day, he just bought an rb20 for his 260Z, bought it for 990 with turbo and loom (so he says), and those motors are fairly easy to modify, although there will be a big lump of nothing down low....

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/121199-r31-turbo/#findComment-2237205

Yeah i think i like that idea lol, it would be nice to be able to rebuild, but apprentices dont get the best wage these days :laugh: But atm is is just for street with a lil bit of go, so exhaust wise whats the best type for good noise/slight betta performance? Available around my area i can get Lukey/Redback or cheaper generic brands ;) i was thinking just a cat back, im on a budget aswell:P, this convo bout the turbo has turned into me whole R31 lol

Thanx guys, brady

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/121199-r31-turbo/#findComment-2237258