holdens_r_better Posted August 19, 2003 Share Posted August 19, 2003 I have decided on these 4 cars to get for my first car. Nissan silvia Sr20 or Ca18 turbo Nissan Pulsar SSS n14 Mitsubishi lancer Toyota Celica 88-89+ Please note i have around an 8000 budget. Please give me your thoughts and any experiences you have had with any of these cars thanks Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
NuGGeT Posted August 19, 2003 Share Posted August 19, 2003 make sure u have at least 1grand spare for rego, transfer ect also no chance for u to get insurance with a silvia turbo, i'v been there and tried everything. u thought about a prelude, civic, integra at all? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-492803 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lepperfish Posted August 19, 2003 Share Posted August 19, 2003 N14 would be sweet.... Or yeah an Integra.... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-492832 Share on other sites More sharing options...
awill Posted August 19, 2003 Share Posted August 19, 2003 I reackon a turbo car isnt a great idea for a 1st car im glad i didnt get 1 now. Pulsar is nice but why not an sr20de silvia my CA manages alright for a 1.8. Do the exhaust intake maybe a cam and they arent slow for an N/A car great first car if you can afford insurance. Fun in the wet to if you can avoid the kerbs. They will also kill ne lancers or celica's around an my car keeps up with 6 cyl falcons an commo's and mine's stock. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-492863 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lepperfish Posted August 19, 2003 Share Posted August 19, 2003 As long as your beating 6 cylinder comos and falcons... LOL Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-492943 Share on other sites More sharing options...
legend Posted August 20, 2003 Share Posted August 20, 2003 go the N14.... had one before and they are sweet, make sure you lower it though, or else you'd be 4 wheel driftin' around corners at high speeds Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-493242 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greg Posted August 20, 2003 Share Posted August 20, 2003 thought about a toyota cressida? they're nice cars but hard to find in manual Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-493295 Share on other sites More sharing options...
TTT Posted August 20, 2003 Share Posted August 20, 2003 I'd recommend a N/A front wheel drive car.. out of the lancer, celica and N14 SSS, I would take the SSS. Apart fomr insurance on the turbo models, the fact that you don't have that much driving experience means that RWD cars are still dangerous when driven hard for you and anyone near you.. SSS is a good car. in the future you can get rid of it and get something else, or do the SR20DET engine conversion to it Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-493400 Share on other sites More sharing options...
holdens_r_better Posted August 20, 2003 Author Share Posted August 20, 2003 NuGGeT - I thought bout em but nah i dont really like the look of em awill - "but why not an sr20de silvia". I have that one at the top as one of my choices Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-493575 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Posted August 20, 2003 Share Posted August 20, 2003 He means a N/A one as opposed to a Turbo since the insurance will be heaps more on a Turbo (if you can get it at all). Turbo= sr20det N/A= sr20de (thing to note is the lack of the "t") I think the N/A Silvia or an old school Celica Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-493610 Share on other sites More sharing options...
holdens_r_better Posted August 20, 2003 Author Share Posted August 20, 2003 oh yeah thats what i ment sr20 na Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-493634 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Merli Posted August 20, 2003 Share Posted August 20, 2003 a cheap, safe car that you're not going to cry over if you write it off. Out of those choices, give that they're all the same price, I'd choose the N14 SSS. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-493715 Share on other sites More sharing options...
holdens_r_better Posted August 20, 2003 Author Share Posted August 20, 2003 bump bump bump Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-493915 Share on other sites More sharing options...
NuGGeT Posted August 20, 2003 Share Posted August 20, 2003 dude if ya can get insurance for ya n/a silvia, get it ay! there great cars Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-494068 Share on other sites More sharing options...
awill Posted August 20, 2003 Share Posted August 20, 2003 The silvia is quicker than the celica the ca18de also has more power than the pulsar sr20de to and i reckon looks better as well Mods on a silvia are so cheap to. If you are mechanically gifted there are very cheap ca18 silvia's coming into the country atm bcoz of the 15yr rule rebuilding 1 of these and raising the compresion a ca16de exhaust cam and everything else would make it go hard, as well as computer remap. Just check insurance out coz u will have probs c if u can insure it under ur old man, go and get quotes for a few of the cars ur looking at or even better get ur dad to do it bcoz they will say no to u if its an import trust me. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-494079 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nismodified Posted August 20, 2003 Share Posted August 20, 2003 if u have 8000, why dont u look into the 15year old cars, 88' model at the moment can be brought in. you can pick up things like VR4's, Celica GT4s, R32 GTST (4wd and 4dr) to name a few within that sort of budget. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-494126 Share on other sites More sharing options...
akeenan Posted August 20, 2003 Share Posted August 20, 2003 for your first car dont get a turbo,,,.... just get something cheap, something rear wheel drive...something to muck around in... eg ......vl argh argh.... whatever... , then once you are a good enough driver eg asa you get off your ps replace the vl with a gtst + mods plus full comp. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-494138 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pva_Glue Posted August 20, 2003 Share Posted August 20, 2003 Stick with your HOLDEN COMMOMWHORE Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-494240 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nismodified Posted August 21, 2003 Share Posted August 21, 2003 or you can simply pocket the 8000 grand (or smartly invest it), pimp in dunnydore for a while longer and get a decent car in a year or two, basically what Pva sed. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-494599 Share on other sites More sharing options...
DLuded Posted August 21, 2003 Share Posted August 21, 2003 i just bought a MA70 1986 supra and im having heaps of fun with that. has a bit of power, has HEAPS of extra (like electric drivers seat- kinda give yourself a back massage in the traffic) and looks good aswell Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/22981-out-of-these-cars-what-do-u-think-i-should-get-as-my-first/#findComment-494829 Share on other sites More sharing options...