Spynic Posted March 8, 2009 Share Posted March 8, 2009 hi all i have just spent 8 years in the uk and have been back for nearly a year and keep hearing peoples cars refered to as Ricers? what is this! lol sounds stupid but we never used this term in the UK. any help would be good :-) cheers people Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ehgriez Posted March 8, 2009 Share Posted March 8, 2009 derogatory term, generally refers to Jap cars in general and thats the way you'll hear it used alot. Within Jap car circles it generally refers to a car thats done up cosmetically (usually badly i.e. neons, big stickers, sound system, rims from bob jane that dont fit etc) and has no go. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4464727 Share on other sites More sharing options...
BJV Posted March 8, 2009 Share Posted March 8, 2009 The term rice burners was originally used by bikers with Harleys to rip on guys that rode jap bikes ages ago. somehow spilled over onto imported cars and was shortened to ricers. I only ever fuel up with 98 octane sake anyway. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4464758 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spynic Posted March 8, 2009 Author Share Posted March 8, 2009 ahhhh sweet cheers guys it all makes sense now, weird how sayings move around. i better keep the neons turned off lol (they came with the car honest!!) Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4464931 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTS-t VSPEC Posted March 8, 2009 Share Posted March 8, 2009 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rice_burner The only people who use that term are bogans, another word you may want to look up Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4464939 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spynic Posted March 8, 2009 Author Share Posted March 8, 2009 yh have heard that word alot as well i have caught on to that one :-) gotta love the aussie slang its great Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4464944 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTS-t VSPEC Posted March 8, 2009 Share Posted March 8, 2009 We have alot less slang than the UK, just have to get used to a few new words This might help http://www.aussieslang.com/ Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4464997 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spynic Posted March 8, 2009 Author Share Posted March 8, 2009 people actually make websites about this stuff?? its interesting over here how people who enjoy cars are classed as "hoons" ( i know its the small minority that ruin it as always) in the uk you get called a "Boy Racer" crazy really Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4465024 Share on other sites More sharing options...
reNEGaDe88 Posted March 11, 2009 Share Posted March 11, 2009 Oh so ur a UK boy? Well well well. So most boy racers have FWD cars in UK. cos insurance is so expensive and so far away from the japan imports that we get more readily. There are more terms like rice burner is generally small displacment turbo engines from japan. There is also chook cooker. (chicker cooker) which is a rotary engine (roticary). Boy racers here are generally Evo's and Sti's because they are of the few Jap performance cars sold currently in Aus Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4472295 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hank Scorpio Posted March 11, 2009 Share Posted March 11, 2009 in the uk you get called a "Boy Racer" Sounds gay for some reason. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4472316 Share on other sites More sharing options...
sidewayssam Posted March 11, 2009 Share Posted March 11, 2009 Race Inspired Cosmetic Enhancements Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4472322 Share on other sites More sharing options...
R32 Driver Posted March 11, 2009 Share Posted March 11, 2009 LOL HAHAHHAHAHAHA spot on Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4472533 Share on other sites More sharing options...
bubba Posted March 11, 2009 Share Posted March 11, 2009 RaceInspired Cosmetic Enhancements lol gold! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4472737 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spynic Posted March 12, 2009 Author Share Posted March 12, 2009 yh it does sound gay lol i used to have a Supra manual TT but i still got classed as a "boy racer" but never mind lol i was only 21 cost me £2000($4000) to insure a year :-) Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4472896 Share on other sites More sharing options...
skinkis Posted March 14, 2009 Share Posted March 14, 2009 Here´s an explination of the term "Ricer" from Mike Merryfield. (US) http://www.garaget.org/video/cksmekqpfxsn lol Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4477306 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char Posted March 14, 2009 Share Posted March 14, 2009 note the spoilers and gauge on bonnet facing the wrong way. i remember my mate running out to his pig sil80 coz the alarm was going off and the neighbour saying to him "your rice is cooked". lol Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4477562 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ehgriez Posted March 15, 2009 Share Posted March 15, 2009 lawl poser mobile trueno, that picture always comes out. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4478897 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spynic Posted March 15, 2009 Author Share Posted March 15, 2009 its hard to believe what ppl do to thier cars sometimes :-) Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4479233 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kerr34 Posted March 16, 2009 Share Posted March 16, 2009 how did u get a pic of my car =[ Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4479801 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char Posted March 16, 2009 Share Posted March 16, 2009 lawl poser mobile trueno, that picture always comes out. true that, i thought it was an exa at first .. trueno coupe Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/260112-what-is-a-ricer/#findComment-4480360 Share on other sites More sharing options...