Im looking at getting a datsun 240k coupe rolling shell of a mate for free, full of rust but iv got the tools to cut and shut myself. Iv done a bit of research on the 240's but i'm confused with my search result. Im searching 240k coupe and it keeps comming up with nissan skyline c110. I dont have pics of the coupe but its got round rear lights if that helps. I would also like to know what are my easy motor options as its a rolling shell.

Dave

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/326149-datsun-240k-coupe/

Datsun 240K was the Export name of the Nissan Skyline C110/C111

Australia got different tailights to japanese domestic models as far as I know.

Australia 240K GL:

Mvc-257f.jpg

Japan GTR:

kenmarygtr1.jpg

Edited by Socrates

Front suspension can be sourced from other datsun's also.

Rear you can still buy shocks and springs new.

easy engine swaps would be Lseries Straight 6

You could also go

Chev V8

RB Series

SR Series

provided you do the job wright i believe most of those options would be able to get eng and registered aswell

Mechanical parts are no biggie.

Original interior and good panels are almost impossible to find. Be prepared for buckets of rust removal/panel beating of what you have already got, and that you will need to spend a fortune on interior retrimming or go for a non-original interior.

Mechanical parts are no biggie.

Original interior and good panels are almost impossible to find. Be prepared for buckets of rust removal/panel beating of what you have already got, and that you will need to spend a fortune on interior retrimming or go for a non-original interior.

Id love to keep the interior original but im sure this car was missing most of the interior so i might have to custom make parts to suit unless you have some spare parts laying around :P

If you haven't already found it there is an awesome RB/240k restoration on classiczcars. Buckets of useful info for you there. Look for posts by kidk.

On the site now :D

I took some pics today after dumping the car at my nans ( large backyard unlike myn) Im not sure what to do with it yet maybe a rb20det gtr mock up?

1-1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

The bay is seam welded by previous owner

It has the stock 240k rear round lights in good con but the boot is shithouse :/

do a lil bit of quick rust repair to keep the rust at bay and keep it out of the rain

looks clean enough considering its age :happy:

Im going to start some cut and shut rust repair this weekend and see if i can get my hands on a boot. Can i use a boot from a 4door?

Heaps of potential, but also heaps of work!

I would get an L series in there for the minute. once its up and restored and running, then look at conversions. ( you might get sic of it before then and have to sell up the RB)

My mate that i got the car of said he might have most of the old engine laying around + a box of spares :whistling: i was thinking of staying with the old motor at first to get it back on the road so im hoping he has most of the engine parts

Id have that for free. no problems,

shit id pay money for it to be honest

ya im pretty happy with the car, its going to be a bit of work to get her back on the road but it will be worth it.

Did they ever make replacement skins for the panels?

Nice pick up....

I restored an EK ute a few years ago and had to do a lot of making of panels... There was some easy stuff to get and some stuff that you just could not get and had to fabricate... Pain in the arse in both respects to be honest as I had to call around to and visit a lot of wreckers to get certain parts...

Oh and this was before you could jump on the net and just google it to find it (ok, ok, it may have been MORE than a few years ago) so a lot of scouring of wreckers was involved....

I still recommend a good scrummage at the wreckers, you will be very surprised at what you will find :whistling: You will be surprised at how many parts you will find for old dattos.....

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• Cheers. Skyline is back on the menu, can’t get rid of it. It’s like a child you don’t want, or herpes 
    • I got back to Japan in January and was keen to get back on track as quickly as possible. Europe is god-awful for track accessibility (by comparison), so I picked up a first-gen GT86 in December just to have something I could jump into right away. The Skyline came over in a container this time and landed in early January. It was a bit battered after Europe, though—I refused to do anything beyond essential upkeep while it was over there. The clutch master cylinder gave out, and so did the power steering. I didn’t even bother changing the oil; it was the same stuff that went in just before I left Japan the first time. Naughty. Power steering parts would’ve cost double with shipping and taxes, so knowing I’d be heading back to Japan, I just postponed it and powered through the arm workout. It took a solid three months to get the car back on the road. Registration was a nightmare this time around. There were a bunch of BS fees to navigate, and sourcing parts was a headache. I needed stock seats for shaken, mistakenly blew 34k JPY on some ENR34 seats—which, of course, didn’t fit—then ended up having the car’s technical sheet amended to register it as a two-seater with the Brides. Then there’s the GT86. Amazing car. Does everything I want it to do. Parts are cheap, easy to find, and I don’t care what anyone says—it’s super rewarding to drive. I’ve done a few basic mods: diff ratio, coilovers, discs, pads, seat, etc. It already had a new exhaust manifold and the 180kph limiter removed, so I assume it’s running some kind of map. I’ve just been thrashing it at the track non-stop—mostly Fuji Speedway now, since I need something with higher speed after all that autobahn time. The wheels on the R34 always pissed me off—too big, and it was a nightmare getting tires to fit properly under the arches. So I threw in the towel and bought something that fits better. Looks way cleaner too (at least to me)—less hotboy, less attention-seeking. Still an R34, though. Now for future plans. There are a few things still outstanding with the car. First up, the rear subframe needs an overhaul—that’s priority one. Next, I need to figure out an engine rebuild plan. No timeline yet, but I want to keep it economical—not cutting corners, just not throwing tens of thousands at a mechanic I can barely communicate with. And finally, paint. Plus a bit of tidying up here and there.  
    • Nope, needed to clearance under the bar a little with a heat gun, a 1/2" extension as the "clearancer", and big hammer, I was aware of this from the onset, they fit a 2.0 with this intake no problems, but, the 2.5 is around 15mm taller than a 2.0, so "clearancing" was required  It "just" touched when test fitting, now, I have about 10mm of clearance  You cannot see where it was done, and so far, there's no contact when giving it the beans Happy days
    • It's been a while since I've updated this thread. The last year (and some) has been very hectic. In the second-half of 2024 I took the R34 on a trip through Germany, Italy, France and Switzerland - it was f*cking great. I got a little annoyed with the attention the car was getting around Europe and really didn't drive it that much. I could barely work on the car since I was living in an inner-city apartment (with underground parking). During the trip, the car lost power steering in France - split hose - and I ended up driving around 4,000kms with no power steering.  There were a few Nurburgring trips here and there, but in total the R34 amassed just shy of 7,000kms on European roads. Long story short, I broke up with the reason I was transferred to Europe for and requested to be moved back to Japan. The E90, loved it. It was a sunk cost of around EUR 10,000 and I sold it to a friend for EUR 1,500 just to get rid of it quickly. Trust me, moving countries f*cking sucks and I could not be bothered to be as methodical as I was the first time around.