SAU Community

R33 Rb25det - Cutting Out On Boost

prawln

Hey guys,

I recently put a RB25det engine into my partners R33 Rb25de car, Got it going etc etc. Im running the boost off the standard 5psi actuator. Its running ok but to be honest it doesnt feel like its really pulling. So ive just got a 10psi actuator and now when its boosting it cuts out at around 8psi when giving the car some stick.

In first gear it seems to be fine without cutting.

When i take it up hill it in 3rd gear it starts cutting at like 5 psi. I have taken videos that i have attached below.

Alittle about the car, Everything on it is standard but a pod filter and front mount intercooler. It has a RB25det fuel pump in it also.

I have put a fuel pressure gauge in also and the fuel pressure at idle is at around 40psi (alittle below) and when giving the car stick it gets up to around 60psi. Which to me seems fine with no issues there (im not very good with skylines, have only really work on my rx7)

Anyways i hope ive given good info about the issues.

Going up hill in 3rd gear, you can hear it cut/die then come back then cut/die again then come back.

Going down the street with foot flat. Car dies then when i pull foot off accel alittle it comes back.

Also i have replaced all spark plugs but still seems to be doing it!

Ive been doing some searching and have seen some people talk about AFM cut? what is that and how can it be fixed?

Its running a stock ecu also and the AFM is the one that was used for the RB25DE engine but is the pink kind so thought it would be ok.. Do i need to buy a different AFM?

Any help would be good!!

Edited by prawln

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Turbo is stock standard series 2 turbo. It does seem odd that its cutting out at like 5 psi but then it didnt seem to have issues on the 5psi actuator but i will have to replace it back to the 5psi and test it out again!