SAU Community

What to look for in an R34 GTT

Hi all, I apologise for any strange posts but I'm new to skylines, have always had a thing for them and finally I've decided to hopefull purchase an R34 GTT. I wanted to know what I should be looking for, I'm looking to spend between $35k and $40k and I'm living near Melbourne.

Am I better to get as close to stock as possible or would I get better value getting one that has had a few mods already performed? I would like a boost controller, BOV, exhaust, gauges and suspension etc done at some stage. Is there other mods I should be looking for? What things should I look out for when looking at these cars? I'm going to spend a couple of months doing research before making a purchase so any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks guys!

I've just bought mine and I guess it depends on what you are looking to achive with the car. If your gonna mod it well then persoanly I'd look for one thats already done. Much cheaper trust me. I've spent 10k on my car already since I got it and If I had of bought it with these mods it would have saved at least 3-4 I reckon.

Noise was one of my biggest concerns when I was test driving. Heard things like scraping and whining in the rear end which is not a good sign. Also look for things like overspray on parts of the car and areas that look newerolder than the rest. Signs that it may have been repaired.

Persoanly I have a cooler, ECU, boost controller, frontdumpo pipe, hi-flo cat, cat-back exhaust, Bride Brix seat and rims. They were my first concern to get the most out of what I already had.

Hope that helps.