SAU Community

clutch burns - how to avoid them?

hi i'm a fairly new manual driver and i get clutch burn fairly often. any tips on how to avoid this? i try to release my clutch pretty quickly on gear shifts but when it comes to reversing and going upslope slowly during traffic on 1st gear, it tends to occur. much obliged am i!!

less revs.. more clutch release. comes with practice, may even want to get it adjusted.

i take it that its only happening when your starting in first or reverse?

by the time the cars initially moving forwards with your revs still down towards 1grand.. smoothly release the clutch fully and continue accelerating.

sorry if its something else attributing to it.

here's a tip that has always worked for everyone i've given it to. go to a flat bit of road and stop the car..... put it first and leave yr foot off the gas... then slowly remove the clutch. your aim obviously is to get the car going with now gas until u have the clutch all the way out. i found this helped people get an idea about where and how their cluch bites and just how much power u need to supply.

do you have to fully depress your clutch to change gears, or will slightly depressing it do?

here's a tip that has always worked for everyone i've given it to. go to a flat bit of road and stop the car..... put it first and leave yr foot off the gas... then slowly remove the clutch. your aim obviously is to get the car going with now gas until u have the clutch all the way out. i found this helped people get an idea about where and how their cluch bites and just how much power u need to supply.

that's right, only in 1st or reverse

less revs.. more clutch release.  comes with practice, may even want to get it adjusted.

i take it that its only happening when your starting in first or reverse?

by the time the cars initially moving forwards with your revs still down towards 1grand.. smoothly release the clutch fully and continue accelerating.