What should I do with my car down the track?

GT Four! either stagea swap or RB30. if you RB30'd it would you use the NA gbox from it or would a stagea one fit?

sell your car NA n then we can stick the turbo on my car! haha jk, rory wants a turbo for his AW11 though...

Depends what you want to do ,Drag it, Drift it, Circut Race.:confused:

The 2 wheel Gt+t is good for the RB26 swap less weight without the 4wd system and damn cheaper than the GTR.

If you've seen in Japan there's a few GTT's running GTR engines even better if you can land the VVT version of the RB26.:jump:

CYA

Hey Dan Go with the RB30 build & be a little different & go with the RB26 top end with a large single turbo on it

I was looking into it & had got an idea of price of around 6K with out turbo & computer just for the motor build & head/manifolds with no turbos.

I have a lot of info on it if ur keen let me know, mind you that build was with head port work & a 30 thou over on the block with pistons & rods with a fully balanced bottem end I got told it should be good for around 350 at the wheels with the right set up injectors & cooler, only prob with the big single & head port work is it will be very lagie but once it on hold on ;) I don't have the money to do what I wanted to do now but looking into KAPA with super charger kits ;)

there was a rb25 complete for $2000 on here in QLD.. still available last i checked.. loom, ecu, afm, everything..

would be a non-neo r33 engine.. but at that price worth considering

otherwise you get Rb30 blocks for a couple of hundie, and rb25 heads for around $1000.. throw in some cams .. the rebuild costs you a few thousand but that is with the serious bits. Near $10k you can have 350-400rwkw engine if you like.. add a nice turbo and start blowing up drivetrains.

rb26 head is a little too expensive.. flows better and tougher but $1000-$2000 more.

Hey Dan

Originaly myself and a mate built it but had a few problems so I took it to Power Break and Enginering (near Harrys Diner)

They pulled out my original build - rebuilt/ balanced the whole botom end - rebuilt mild port of the head - put it all back together - put it in the car and got it working for $2500

the engine is completly balanced - bored 10 though and runs awsome!

Just waiting to put on my fmic and power fc now and Ill be almost all done with the 33

rb30 with a rb26 head and single turbo is hardly "a little different"......

Go the 4.5 or 4.1 nissan V8 and put twin turbs on.... even with a stock engine this combo would haul some serious A55! the 4.1 will obviously be a little more rev happy, but the 4.5 will have more off-boost torque....

V8 skylines r.o.c.k! (but im biased)

Thanks riceline, may have a yarn to the guys down there then....something *cheaper* like the RB30DET may keep me happy for a bit before I move onto another car :)

Also what turbo are you using on that...is it still the stock one?

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• There's plenty of OEM steering arms that are bolted on. Not in the same fashion/orientation as that one, to be sure, but still. Examples of what I'm thinking of would use holes like the ones that have the downward facing studs on the GTR uprights (down the bottom end, under the driveshaft opening, near the lower balljoint) and bolt a steering arm on using only 2 bolts that would be somewhat similarly in shear as these you're complainig about. I reckon old Holdens did that, and I've never seen a broken one of those.
    • Let's be honest, most of the people designing parts like the above, aren't engineers. Sometimes they come from disciplines that gives them more qualitative feel for design than quantitive, however, plenty of them have just picked up a license to Fusion and started making things. And that's the honest part about the majority of these guys making parts like that, they don't have huge R&D teams and heaps of time or experience working out the numbers on it. Shit, most smaller teams that do have real engineers still roll with "yeah, it should be okay, and does the job, let's make them and just see"...   The smaller guys like KiwiCNC, aren't the likes of Bosch etc with proper engineering procedures, and oversights, and sign off. As such, it's why they can produce a product to market a lot quicker, but it always comes back to, question it all.   I'm still not a fan of that bolt on piece. Why not just machine it all in one go? With the right design it's possible. The only reason I can see is if they want different heights/length for the tie rod to bolt to. And if they have the cncs themselves,they can easily offer that exact feature, and just machine it all in one go. 
    • The roof is wrapped
    • This is how I last did this when I had a master cylinder fail and introduce air. Bleed before first stage, go oh shit through first stage, bleed at end of first stage, go oh shit through second stage, bleed at end of second stage, go oh shit through third stage, bleed at end of third stage, go oh shit through fourth stage, bleed at lunch, go oh shit through fifth stage, bleed at end of fifth stage, go oh shit through sixth stage....you get the idea. It did come good in the end. My Topdon scan tool can bleed the HY51 and V37, but it doesn't have a consult connector and I don't have an R34 to check that on. I think finding a tool in an Australian workshop other than Nissan that can bleed an R34 will be like rocking horse poo. No way will a generic ODB tool do it.
    • Hmm. Perhaps not the same engineers. The OE Nissan engineers did not forsee a future with spacers pushing the tie rod force application further away from the steering arm and creating that torque. The failures are happening since the advent of those things, and some 30 years after they designed the uprights. So latent casting deficiencies, 30+ yrs of wear and tear, + unexpected usage could quite easily = unforeseen failure. Meanwhile, the engineers who are designing the billet CNC or fabricated uprights are also designing, for the same parts makers, the correction tie rod ends. And they are designing and building these with motorsport (or, at the very least, the meth addled antics of drifters) in mind. So I would hope (in fact, I would expect) that their design work included the offset of that steering force. Doesn't mean that it is not totally valid to ask the question of them, before committing $$.