ozziefly Posted March 11, 2008 Share Posted March 11, 2008 Hey all, Not to sound like a complete noob when i ask this but there are some things that i have been reading in the forums that i don't quite understand. please correct me if i have posted in the wrong forum for this, and the reason im posting in Vic thread, is because il hopefully be joining the club when i get my skyline in melbourne. the things i dont understand are "DECA", i read this word when i was reading the list of events. thanks all, Ozziefly Kyle Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
funkymonkey Posted March 11, 2008 Share Posted March 11, 2008 DECA = Driver Education Centre of Australia http://www.deca.com.au/FacilitiesShepparton.aspx "DECA Day" etc refers to the DECA facility in Shepparton that we use quite regularly to have motorkhana and drift training events at. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712063 Share on other sites More sharing options...
ozziefly Posted March 11, 2008 Author Share Posted March 11, 2008 Funkymonkey, Thankyou for the very speedy reply as this has now inspired me to join the crew and get this training because thats around the same time as i get my P's thanks for the info once again and i look forward to meeting you soon. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712077 Share on other sites More sharing options...
R31Nismoid Posted March 11, 2008 Share Posted March 11, 2008 Enjoy Cerberus mate... the food there it shit house. Make sure ya get outside the gate to the B&B, food is 10 times better. Or millie's on the base hehe Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712092 Share on other sites More sharing options...
ozziefly Posted March 11, 2008 Author Share Posted March 11, 2008 Hehehe thanks Nis, im sure its better than Nismoid and apparently from a couple of mates, they dont reckon its that bad. Nis, are you by any chance near cerberus? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712104 Share on other sites More sharing options...
R31Nismoid Posted March 11, 2008 Share Posted March 11, 2008 Nah, im basically city. I just spent a lot of time down there years ago as my best mate is in the Navy Its bad enough by my standards put it that way... well, its ok for a while You Navy/Army or AF? If your coming from somewhere remotely warm, make sure you bring jackets, its filthy down there 3/4 the year being where it is. But when you go to western port its even worse Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712141 Share on other sites More sharing options...
ozziefly Posted March 11, 2008 Author Share Posted March 11, 2008 Navy bro, thanks for the weather advice man, il be moving down from The whitsundays in Queensland so yeh i think they will supply most of the gear i would need, well i hope so, if worst comes to worst, il sleep with the skyline heater on Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712168 Share on other sites More sharing options...
R31Nismoid Posted March 11, 2008 Share Posted March 11, 2008 Ah so you'll be here for at least 12 or 18months i think ye? Ya poor bloke... your going to freeze down here lol. You dont get casual gear though, you'll need some super size me jackets Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712173 Share on other sites More sharing options...
ozziefly Posted March 11, 2008 Author Share Posted March 11, 2008 OR what i could do is purchase a Vic SAU jacket i like my thinking Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712177 Share on other sites More sharing options...
R31Nismoid Posted March 11, 2008 Share Posted March 11, 2008 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712232 Share on other sites More sharing options...
ozziefly Posted March 11, 2008 Author Share Posted March 11, 2008 what il do is, come to a meet and get my membership sorted, get some peeps to look at my car and just intro myself to the crew, if thats ok? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712238 Share on other sites More sharing options...
R31Nismoid Posted March 11, 2008 Share Posted March 11, 2008 Of course mate! You will be able to sign-up online soon too, no more forms and shit Just checkout the member thread: http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/Sa...ber-t60590.html Got all the info there! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712244 Share on other sites More sharing options...
ozziefly Posted March 11, 2008 Author Share Posted March 11, 2008 Thanks for the info, ive actually been reading about the club and various things all day so i think ive learnt alot so far, im actually starting to think about the actual loan im going to take out and the various items im going to need when getting my car, im thinking just a GPS to start off with? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712259 Share on other sites More sharing options...
paulr33 Posted March 11, 2008 Share Posted March 11, 2008 if you want some info the club, what the members rides are like, DECA info etc check out http://www.sauvic.com.au/ Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712777 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roy Posted March 11, 2008 Share Posted March 11, 2008 LOL... my mate was reading the title of some vids i sent him and thought that DECA had something to do with Deca-Durabolin So its this... Not this... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712808 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Basti Posted March 11, 2008 Share Posted March 11, 2008 what il do is, come to a meet and get my membership sorted, get some peeps to look at my car and just intro myself to the crew, if thats ok? mate you are more than welcome to a meet. the thing is tho most of the smaller ones are not organised by SAUVic but just some of the guys off the forum. fun stuff but im afraid we cant help you with membership. however come to one of the monthly meetings (second tuesday of each month i think) committee members should be there and you'll be able to sign up. or else just do it online like ash sed. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3712835 Share on other sites More sharing options...
ozziefly Posted March 12, 2008 Author Share Posted March 12, 2008 Yup no worries on that one, im more than happy to sign up after ive done my recruit training in cerberus as i wont be able to make any events before that time. thanks alot for the information and im glad you have welcomed me in. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/209978-terminology/#findComment-3713929 Share on other sites More sharing options...