atm have a l24e+t that likes to ping is ass off over 6psi. compression accross all 6 is between 168-172psi. head was rebuilt few months ago and i think too much was machined off.

im wanting to lower the compression so thinking either thicker head gakset or a shim.

what would b the better option? whats the std thickness of a l24 head gasket? how much thicker (if possible) should i go? also any thoughts on these shims? seen them b4 just thought was dodge that they r glued to the block (1 i saw done one a gemmie anyway). guess two flat serfaces so should seal alight under boost?

but yea any info would help me out heaps

cheers...

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/225496-l24-compression-problems/

if you have the E88 head, it is lower compression than my N47... so Im officially worried!

I think if you get a gasket taken to a metal laser cutting/waterjet place and get them to make up a 3mm copper gasket to start with

(i think the HKS ones were 3mm)

i think if you get a N42 from a L28 it might lower the comp a bit....

Ghostridcer will know.

I was warned, by a knowledgeable person, when I proposed this some time ago that the engine would likely ping because the head wasn't designed to handle a turbo.

What ECU are you running? How much was shaved off the head? And did you pack the cam towers to compensate? (maybe the cam timing is "off" (retarded))

Why not get a head from a wrecker, get it machined (port, profile combustion chamber) to suit a turbo app. Might be a bit more expensive, but I'm sure it would be a better outcome in the long run.

I think a L28 head is unsuitable because the L28 is a bigger bore than the L24 (?)

cheers 4 the feedback, yea have read about the combustion chamber being unco for boost (half moon) but mate is running l24et n47 head, 10psi no worries. smaller injectors, smaller turbo and fmic and stock ecu. (u should b ok andrew lol)

im only runnin stock ecu.

no idea how much was taken off the head and theres no packing under the cam towers. timing is spot on tho and chain is tight. unless need a vernier cam gear if its a pooftinkths out?

the head its self is good (just been rebuilt) so was hoping to use thats still with maybe a spacer, thicker gasket etc. or after market ecu would be the better option?. but then if comp is too high still wont b able to run much more boost?

1st ill borrow some IPA from work and test out this water injection set up as metho didnt work lol. was alot better but still ping country after 5k...

Edited by OUTATIME

with alcohol in there it deff did make a power difference but still pings after 5k.

thinking about a adjustable fuel reg. to richen it up when on boost. cos plugs r white after a thrash, black after puttin around.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/New-SARD-Adjustable...1742.m153.l1262

any1 had any experience with those regulators? worth getting 1? i had a cheap ass monsta one b4 on my 31 but did f*k all and just broke in the end. dunno if it was a rising rate or not.

cheers...

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• I think the concept is highlighting the various scenarios where thicker oil helps, and thicker oil potentially doesn't help and only generates heat and costs power, in turn for safety which isn't actually any safer (unless you're going real hot). If anything this does highlight why throwing Castrol 10w-60 for your track days is always a solid, safe bet. 
    • Jason should have shown a real viscosity vs temp chart. All the grades have very little viscosity difference at full operating temperature.
    • Oops... I meant to include the connector  view... BR/W - power from fuse L/W - motor negative to fan control amp (and off to HVAC pin19) OR/B - PWM signal (from HVAC pin20) B --  ground  
    • Yep, if you are applying filler it sounds like there is something wrong with the body lol. Safe to assume there is going to be a lot of sanding going on if your still applying fillers.  Picture a perfect bare metal panel, smooth as glass. You lay down your primer, it's perfect. (why are you going to sand it?) You lay down the colour and clear, it's perfect. No sanding at all took place and you've got a perfectly finished panel.  You won't be chasing your tail, sounds like you were prepping to start laying filler. If your happy with the body after the sanding, there is some bare metal exposed and some areas with primer, no issues at all, start laying the filler. You are safe to lay filler on bare metal or primer (of course check your technical data sheet as usual for what your filler is happy to adhere to).  This isn't a 100% correct statement. There is primer that is happy to adhere to smooth bare metal. There are fillers that are happy to adhere to smooth bare metal. Just make sure you're using the right materials for the job.  Typically if you are using filler, you would go primer, colour and clear. I've never seen any instances before where someone has laid colour over body filler (maybe this happens, but I haven't seen it before). So your plan sounds pretty normal to me. 
    • I don't think there's any way someone is push starting this car.. I honestly can barely move it, and moving it and steering it is just flat out not possible. I'm sure it is, but needs a bigger man than me. I have a refurbished starter now. The starter man was quite clear and consise showing me how nothing inside a starter really should contribute to slow cranking, and turned out that for the most part... my starter was entirely fine. Still, some of the wear items were replaced and luckily it didn't show any signs of getting too hot, being unfit for use, etc. Which is 'good'. I also noticed the starter definitely sounded different, which is a bit odd considering nothing should have really changed there.... Removed and refit, and we'll pretend one of the manifold bolts didn't fully tighten up and is only "pretty" tight. GM only wants 18ft/lb anyway. I also found a way to properly get my analog wideband reading very slightly leaner than the serial wideband. There's Greg related reasons for this. The serial output is the absolute source of truth, but it is a total asshole to actually stay connected and needs a laptop. The analog input does not, and works with standalone datalogging. Previously the analog input read slightly richer, but if I am aiming at 12.7 I do not want one of the widebands to be saying 12.7 when the source of truth is 13.0. Now the source of truth will be 12.65 and the Analog Wideband will read 12.7. So when I tune to 12.7 it'll be ever so slightly safer. While messing with all of this and idling extensively I can confirm my car seems to restart better while hot now. I did add an old Skyline battery cable between the head and the body though, though now I really realise I should have chosen the frame. Maybe that's a future job. The internet would have you believe that this is caused by bad grounds. In finding out where my grounds actually were I found out the engine bay battery post actually goes to the engine, as well as a seperate one (from the post) to the body of the car. So now there's a third one making the Grounding Triangle which is now a thing. I also from extensive idling have this graph. Temperature (°C) Voltage (V) 85 1.59 80 1.74 75 1.94 70 2.1 65 2.33 60 2.56 55 2.78 50 2.98 45 3.23 40 3.51 35 3.75 30 4.00   Plotted it looks like this. Which is actually... pretty linear? I have not actually put the formula into HPTuners. I will have to re-engage brain and/or re-engage the people who wanted more data to magically do it for me. Tune should be good for the 30th!