SAU Community

Shift Kit?

loymclure

Iv been thinking of making something like this for my car at tafe. Im studying mechatronics & robotics, so this is right up my alley :P

If you use a manualised auto like the one that was in my car (click on link in my sig), this setup would be great.

I found this on google, its one of their old designs, but you can see how it all goes together.

http://images.google.com.au/imgres?imgurl=...l%3Den%26sa%3DN

Howie It would be pretty easy to make up a couple of aloy paddles attached to some micro switches. it would all work on the stock triptonic.

I could look into making something like this for you if you would like.

You bet your ass i'd be interested. So would most of the guys using the Stagea/R34 Tiptronic... keep me posted buddy :down:

Ok Ill let you know when Iv got something. I know what you mean about the stock buttons too, my brother has a S2 Stagea and the buttons arent the greatest.

Looks good to me!

If you buy a bmw m3 steering wheel with paddles it can be installed into any e46 based bmw with a tiptronic gb and allows you to do the same thing.

-Some extra info for the bmw fans here.

the fact that there is no physical link between the 2 freaks me out a bit.. relying on a RF link to swap gears just leaves me a bit paranoid!

I reckon you would be better off spending the $$ and getting a MV auto shift kit

I have an MV Autos shift kit. But it would be nice being able to shift it quietly and easly, plus if you convert to a full electronic shift you could fit a manual style shifter with two sensors for a sequential shifting as well.

But I agree, the RF freaks me out to.

knox automatics, 395 installed, want in soft, chuck it in snow(i do in traffic so it doesnt go 1-2-1-2-1-2-1--21-2-1-2-)