SAU Community

Bearing Clearances

Dale FZ1

I want to have an idea of what range the various clearances should be at when screwing together the RB30 bottom end. So to those who have solid, experience based opinions, could you give an indicator of

Mains

Big ends

Thrust

clearances that should be the acceptable range? As an amateur builder I'm interested to see what others chase.

Engine to be set up for street + occasional track, RB26 oil pump, head feed restrictors, 6500 limit and ~ 15-16psi boost. Stock rods and +0.5mm cast 30E pistons.

this will depend greatly on who you ask, what oil you will run etc. Some people will recommend building them tight, near 1 thou on the mains, others will say 2 thou on the mains, general rule is 1 thou per inch of journal, and the more power you wake the larger the clearance. Personally i have built some sr20s loose, 2+ thou on the mains and was fine. I don't think there is the perfect rule, but building them a little on the looser side makes some sense to me.

standard thrust of about 3-4thou

mains around 2 and bigends around 1.5-2. if youve got a big hp and high rev motor, add .25 thou.

this is using a standard wieght oil. ie 40-50 hot.

the bigger the clearance the, the bigger the oil pump needs to be. also the bigger the clearance the less the oil will heat up :D

all the engins ive built have 1.7~ bigend and 2~ mains and 4~ thrust. (with a light leverage when checking. not just pushing with your hand)

Cheers Dave, good info that makes sense. I expected that the pump delivery should be geared to the bearing clearances, and what you say is logical.

I'm relying on the ability of my machinist, but want to be sure I'm going about it the right way. Somewhere I'd seen a comment advising against the use of plastigauge to check journal clearances during a dummy assembly. Anyone care to advance a reason why?