SAU Community

Share Your Knowledge About R33 Gtr

Hi boys,

I'm a big fan of the Skyline but unfortunately I don't have a lot of spare time to chase parts. I'm a doctor working full time but I'm usually free on weekends. I live in the Bankstown area.

I'm hoping to tap into the local knowledge of skyline enthusiasts :P I'm not really after a debate as to what's the absolute best thing to do, more like whatever keeps your baby running as I'm using the car as a daily hehe

The car is stock standard and I intend to keep it that way (don't want police trouble).

Things I need help with:

1. Crappy oil from the guy I bought it from, some quite thick pennzoil - takes about 5 min warm up time before the car can rev smoothly. I'll be replacing the oil soon, I'm running 0-40 Mobil 1 full synthetic in the missus Saab 9-3 2001 (damn expensive oil like $90-100 for 5L), would it be ok to use the same oil in the gtr? I need something readily available. If anyone knows of where I can get Motul oil near Bankstown it would be much appreciated!

2. Oil filter - ryco ones from supercheap should be ok?

3. Air filter, fuel filter- where can I get these?

4. Spark plugs- probably stick with NGK, they have been good to me in other cars. Something about needing re-gap?

5. 100, 000km service - i'm at 92,000 km... should think about investing in the ~$500 100k kit soon yes?

6. Fuel economy - probably getting less than 400km/tank driving to and from work, half the time on the motorway and quite soft on the pedal... is that decent or should I look into the o2 sensor?

7. Is it worth it getting the car tuned? Seems to have quite a bit of lag (wife's saab 2L turbo accelerates smooth like a baby's butt and can probably rip me in a drag race).

Hope you guys can help a brother out with your wisdom hehe

Cheers!

Son.

Hi Son,