Bratva Posted September 29, 2012 Share Posted September 29, 2012 Hi, Does anyone have a welder i need to weld a steel nut onto a steel bolt ? Thanks ^^ Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trozzle Posted September 29, 2012 Share Posted September 29, 2012 Sounds like someone is trying to remove a stud Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6556484 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bratva Posted September 29, 2012 Author Share Posted September 29, 2012 Lol you are one cheeky kent mate i swear i am going to wreck you. But yes its from the exhaust manifold, i got other 3 out and thought this one was out got all excited and celebrated just soaked it in some more WD40 overnight to make it come out smooth but it snapped in half! I tried grips and grinding the sides off but they no want to come off. Man these studs is killing me i thought i had this one but it decided to snap Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6556502 Share on other sites More sharing options...
sweefu Posted September 30, 2012 Share Posted September 30, 2012 Can you still drive the car? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6557312 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bratva Posted September 30, 2012 Author Share Posted September 30, 2012 The exhaust manifold is out ! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6557410 Share on other sites More sharing options...
sweefu Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 Sorry, I can't help unless you have a 15amp outlet in your garage.. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6558077 Share on other sites More sharing options...
zebra Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 I have a real shit heap cheap arc/stick one you can borrow Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6558087 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bratva Posted October 1, 2012 Author Share Posted October 1, 2012 I can drive to someones if they have a welder i have zero experience on welding, i dont think i even seen someone weld unless its similiar to soldering Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6558278 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trozzle Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 I reckon you'd have a bit of fun trying to use a shitty arc welder for the first time! hahaha Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6558291 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bratva Posted October 1, 2012 Author Share Posted October 1, 2012 I don't want to weld my garage wall to the manifold! This is my second manifold ! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6558298 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Manuel Kasko Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 I'm a stud but cant weld sorry Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6558316 Share on other sites More sharing options...
D.I.Y. Mik Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 call a thread repair guy to get it out. and use a new stud like you wanted to in the first place. or drill and re-tap it. but then you cant use a normal stud. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6558349 Share on other sites More sharing options...
bnpcustoms Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 If the car moved i would suggest bringing it in and we could weld it on for you. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6558574 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trozzle Posted October 1, 2012 Share Posted October 1, 2012 I believe that it's one of the 4 studs on the turbo flange, so he can bring the manifold to the welder. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6558730 Share on other sites More sharing options...
bnpcustoms Posted October 2, 2012 Share Posted October 2, 2012 If need be pm us to come in. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6559002 Share on other sites More sharing options...
StinkyPoo Posted October 2, 2012 Share Posted October 2, 2012 I have a welder, it's not very good but I don't think you need much. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6559128 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greekos Posted October 5, 2012 Share Posted October 5, 2012 (edited) as said above call the thread guy, i have used him heaps of times for manifold studs, stipped threads you name it, he comes to your house and he does good prices. Capital Thread Repair 0419 281 194 Edited October 5, 2012 by Greekos Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6566123 Share on other sites More sharing options...
zebra Posted October 5, 2012 Share Posted October 5, 2012 Yes, take it to a thread guy. Or come see me at work on tuesday, we have all sorts of stuff to fix that sort of thing Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6566691 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bratva Posted October 6, 2012 Author Share Posted October 6, 2012 Thanks for all you guys help good to know everyone here to help My mate is back and said he will weld the nut on for me and hopefully it doesnt snap again when i undo it! Otherwise plan b is to weld a washer (smaller hole than the stud) on the remaining bit of stud, then weld a nut onto that and try again Otherwise Thread guy or Mr. Zebra and money/beer/love ? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/410410-anyone-have-a-welder-i-need-to-weld-a-steel-nut-onto-a-bolt/#findComment-6566946 Share on other sites More sharing options...