Got a Pulsar Posted March 2, 2014 Author Share Posted March 2, 2014 SkyWagon started making a nasty sound from the DriveTrain today driving over to Mum n Dad's. Seemed to get worse on the way home. Not sure if it's Gearbox, Tailshaft etc but it's from something Rotating and increases with speed. Sounds like this. --->> https://soundcloud.com/not-a-pulsar/r31-rear-noise Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7215409 Share on other sites More sharing options...
D.I.Y. Mik Posted March 2, 2014 Share Posted March 2, 2014 check oil levels Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7215438 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Got a Pulsar Posted March 2, 2014 Author Share Posted March 2, 2014 I'm gonna check the Diff oil. Been meaning to change it but I'm pretty sure it's a Uni joint in the Tailshaft. Kaput! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7215440 Share on other sites More sharing options...
k_d Posted March 2, 2014 Share Posted March 2, 2014 Welded and primed most of the holes in my firewall up yesterday, hopefully get time to paint it this week. Also removed dash, heater/ac box and most of the main loom ready to start cutting some wires Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7215507 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verms Posted March 2, 2014 Share Posted March 2, 2014 I replaced my air flow meters with ones Anfanee gave me. Should hopefully make a difference Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7215605 Share on other sites More sharing options...
D.I.Y. Mik Posted March 3, 2014 Share Posted March 3, 2014 Etch primer done Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7216485 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Got a Pulsar Posted March 3, 2014 Author Share Posted March 3, 2014 I think SkyWagon's Tailshaft CV joint is totally shagged.Looking at buying a one piece. (8000kms old)Eliminates 2 potential problems. (CV and center bearing.) Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7216529 Share on other sites More sharing options...
DAN00H Posted March 3, 2014 Share Posted March 3, 2014 I think SkyWagon's Tailshaft CV joint is totally shagged. Looking at buying a one piece. (8000kms old) Eliminates 2 potential problems. (CV and center bearing.) I'd say the the CV needs repacking (grease), they are serviceable and never get done. worth doing all 3(?) while the tailshaft is out - it's perhaps a 1/2hr job. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7216670 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadRanga Posted March 3, 2014 Share Posted March 3, 2014 Dropped my Stag off at Trojan motorsport, hopefully to get the "defectable" things fixed up for rego. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7216707 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sinista32 Posted March 3, 2014 Share Posted March 3, 2014 A single piece may cause you grief in the way of vibrations - just a thought. Good luck with rego on the Stag (have you fired up the BBQ yet? nomnomnomnom Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7216731 Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadRanga Posted March 3, 2014 Share Posted March 3, 2014 Haha yeah mate have fired up the BBQ and it's a ripper. 10/10 best purchase I've made this year. Thanks, I hope everything goes smoothly with the stag from here on out.. driving the lexus to work this morning was horrible... FIRST WORLD PROBLEMS! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7216757 Share on other sites More sharing options...
D.I.Y. Mik Posted March 4, 2014 Share Posted March 4, 2014 Sprayed primer filler. I think i have the flu, somehow managed to not fill the respirator with snot and keep breathing. Dizzy wobbly spraying, so i did 3 coats to cover the misses. Couldnt get the spray gun working properly, untill i realized i was being lazy and not fully pulling the trigger. So flu also makes the brain stupid, hope i didnt miss anything, or leave a handprint or something. sore throat snot machine Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7217172 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTRKat Posted March 4, 2014 Share Posted March 4, 2014 Haha yeah mate have fired up the BBQ and it's a ripper. 10/10 best purchase I've made this year. Thanks, I hope everything goes smoothly with the stag from here on out.. driving the lexus to work this morning was horrible... FIRST WORLD PROBLEMS! LOL oh how things change... GL getting your rego sorted! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7217258 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Got a Pulsar Posted March 4, 2014 Author Share Posted March 4, 2014 I'd say the the CV needs repacking (grease), they are serviceable and never get done. worth doing all 3(?) while the tailshaft is out - it's perhaps a 1/2hr job. Looks like the rubber boot is split to the splithouse. Replaceable? Do CV joints go Ting Ting Ting like Uni joints when they crap out / are dry? A single piece may cause you grief in the way of vibrations - just a thought. Potentially but balancing may help? Seems to be a common upgrade. The one I'm looking at was built 8000kms ago. My old mechanic put a one piece (180B) tailshaft in my 1985 Bluebird years ago... No Problems. Sprayed primer filler. Sore Throat Snot Machine That's a recentish John Cusack movie isn't it? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7217402 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pattey21 Posted March 4, 2014 Share Posted March 4, 2014 Nice work Chris Will give that a try maybe next in line and if not then just give it to a exhaust shop to do it. Today i tidy the engine bay a little and got rego Exhaust shops just call capital thread repair. I have done 6 myself. If your good with tools and have patience give it a crack. I use socket Allen keys instead of easyouts. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7217534 Share on other sites More sharing options...
B-rice Posted March 4, 2014 Share Posted March 4, 2014 Hmmm nice how does that work with the Allen keys. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7217539 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Manuel Kasko Posted March 4, 2014 Share Posted March 4, 2014 Exhaust shops just call capital thread repair. I have done 6 myself. If your good with tools and have patience give it a crack. I use socket Allen keys instead of easyouts. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7217546 Share on other sites More sharing options...
5hiv Posted March 4, 2014 Share Posted March 4, 2014 It was leaking so I just tighten a few nuts today, exhaust shop wants $500. Might do it next long weekend Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7217707 Share on other sites More sharing options...
DAN00H Posted March 4, 2014 Share Posted March 4, 2014 Looks like the rubber boot is split to the splithouse. Replaceable? Do CV joints go Ting Ting Ting like Uni joints when they crap out / are dry? Potentially but balancing may help? Seems to be a common upgrade. The one I'm looking at was built 8000kms ago. My old mechanic put a one piece (180B) tailshaft in my 1985 Bluebird years ago... No Problems. That's a recentish John Cusack movie isn't it? one of the CV's on my XC90 did make that noise (it was the centre one). you don't actually touch the rubber boot, so it may still hold. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7218087 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pattey21 Posted March 4, 2014 Share Posted March 4, 2014 Hmmm nice how does that work with the Allen keys. Drill into stud 2/3rds deep slightly smaller than whatever size Allen key socket you want to use. Tap Allen key into stud and undo with ratchet. I find it useful when up against firewalls 1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/415573-sau-act-what-did-you-do-to-your-car-today/page/181/#findComment-7218164 Share on other sites More sharing options...