SAU Community

Thinking of buying an R33

Hi, this is my first time posting here. I would first of all like to say that Im pretty much a total noob, and that I just like to get in the car and drive it without thinking too much about fiddling with the mechanical parts or anything.

Im after the R33 because it apparently has more interior room than the R32. I'll probably be wanting one with an automatic transmission because Im lazy (and I haven't driven a manual before). Im looking at getting a new car next year, so I have plenty of time to do some research.

Some main questions I would like to ask:

- How hard is it to maintain this car? Is there any extra care that I need to take in regards to the turbo?

- What is the fuel economy like? Is it better than or about the same as the Falcon/Commodore V8s? Can you use regular unleaded or do you need to use premium?

- Is it easy to fit new stereo systems in? If I got someplace to do it for me, would they know what to do or would they need instructions first?

- Are they fitted with an alarm and/or immobiliser or do I need to get one fitted?

- Considering that there are a lot of Skylines around, I would think there would be a lot of parts available, but do I still need to take extra precautions in this area?

I would appreciate some feedback from you guys.

- Maintenance is pretty much the same as any car its age. Regular oil changes, i do mine every 5000km but you could get away with 8000km or even 10000km if you use fully synthetic, which you should. Regular servicing, timing belt and water pump change at 100,000km intervals etc. All standard stuff.

- Fuel economy all depends on how and where you drive. Highway you will see in excess of 400km to a tank but around the city expect 300km per tank. You must use 98 octane and only resort to premium or regular unleaded if you are desperate.

- Any car audio place will have fitted 250000000 skylines before so no dramas.