'lo All,

Does anyone have recommendations for automotive tool shops in the Sydney metro area?

I am not talking the usual Repco/Supercrap type stores, but specialist shops that stock a good range of good brands (not the usual 100 different crap brands) and also have good pricing. I am aware of the TransQuip online webstore, but I would prefer somewhere local that I can go to physically look at an item (and purchase it, if the pricing is good enough).

Lucien

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/111364-auto-tool-shops/

find your local snap-on man. any tools i need i just ask my friend to call me when the snap-on man is coming down.

Snap On actually doesn't make what I am after. No idea if Sidchrome does because they don't seem to have their catalogue online. I know Kincrome does though.

So far the cheapest place in Sydney I have found is

V E K Tools

3/ 50 Cumberland Hwy Smithfield 2164

(02) 9756 3464

Supercheap and repco now have a line up of tools with lifetime warranty on them. I haven't had an breakages with the Supercheap Gold Works sockets the amount of supercheap tools I have is catching up to the siddies :D

I've had Repco items break on me. I read the warranty conditions and its full of holes :D

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/111364-auto-tool-shops/#findComment-2053522

what do you need lucien?

I am after ratcheting spanners with flex heads like so (~300kb PDF).

T&E and stahl wille make quite nice tools also. blue point is snap-ons budget brand and is not bad either. kingchrome is crap on the whole.

"Kingchrome" might be crap, but in my experience "Kincrome" makes decent mid-level tools. They are definately a step up from the rubbish no name (Kincrome has a cheap label, Supatool that competes with those brands). IIRC, Duncan is a fan of their spanners (namely, the stubby spanners) too.

Edit: Supatool, not Supercraft.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/111364-auto-tool-shops/#findComment-2053975

I went to bunnings picked out the kincrome... said another shop does it cheaper, gave them my mates number./.. got a good price :D

Mad dodgey stylee, I love it :( To be honest, I hate Bunnings so much -- mainly because their staff are always moronic, but also because they are destroying the market for the types of hardware/tool shops I like -- that I would rather spend my money elsewhere, but if all else fails I might give them a call.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/111364-auto-tool-shops/#findComment-2055238

ahhahah I'm a stubby tool.

Yep you got that right buddy,,,I don't know how many times I've threatened to post a "For Sale" of your tools because you should have been born not allowed to touch tools. At race meetings I try really hard to do all the work so you just watch. Duncan should limit his use of tools to cable-ties.

Snap-On,,,You rich boys have gotta be kidding,,,Over-Priced polished tools that are so-overated they should be kept in a show case just to look at. No way are they a tool for a non-mechanic household and not that much better than most other brands.

Here's one to look at:

http://www.kctools.com.au

Neil.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/111364-auto-tool-shops/#findComment-2055471

Anyway, just buy kincrome from transquip, if you are buying a quality product and the description is clear you don't really need to see it first I reckon

Its not so much because I doubt what I am getting, its more because I want to see if the head is sufficently small to fit in the space I need it too.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/111364-auto-tool-shops/#findComment-2055520