^^^ agreed.

I'm wanting to get out of the import scene... even though there are some awesome people in it, a majority now are douche bags or bogans..

In saying there are bogans, i am looking for possibly a VY or VZ SS ute haha.. or an integra type S.

Doesn't want to be a bogan.

Wants a commodore....

yeah useless post really.

nothing has changed at all, there are the people that appreciate their cars and mod them tastefully and the ones that drive them, bling them up etc. its just two tastes, usually a younger person who 'gets their first skyline' stereotyping i know, but no more than what has been done.

its how it is, its how it will always be.

what has changed is the number of quality imports seen on the roads (in the south anyway)

used to be some nice supra's, atleast 5 i can think of, 4 of them went to the mainland and one i'm not sure. used to see some really nice GTR's, i know some were stolen, some sold to interstate and some converted to motorsports only cars.

used to see some nice FD's, "Apexi" etc, now there is only 1 i see kicking about, belongs to a mate of mine.

just seems alot were sold interstate, crash/stolen etc and weren't replaced with more.

we had atleast two importers in the south, now both shut shop and gone. made a difference having a showroom of around 10 and the other keeping stock of around 6

anyways just a sign of the times, some nice 35's doing to rounds =)

on the flip side there is plenty of good datsuns doing to rounds in the motorsport (mainly circuit) scene.

Brad's monster 32, rod willit's 32, Jamie lonergan's 32, John brigg's 32, yogi burghart's 33, Leigh Wooly's 33 then Pete Nunn's old car not sure who bought that.

Nobes is building a Improved production 350z, plus the 370 that is being built =)

Burgz is building his car atm, should be pretty trick.

also not sure what is going on with PJ's 34gtr, no doubt that will be floating about before too much longer

no doubt there is a few i have missed

things only seem to be growing on the circuit scene anyway which is great =D

Can't really give an answer to the whole story but my stagea is taking a holiday in qld atm

Should be up and running in a neat-ish looking r31 soon tho

have to agree tho, i used to see a few more imports around but now i only see the bad examples driven by the arabs at uni (auto supra, loud as hell red z31, shitty silver r33)

i've seen this driving past my house a few times tho

IMG_20120405_165016.jpg

looks really well done, sounds pretty good too

also just spotted that red 34 in the photo too

yeah i think i saw that one and a white 34 driving together on brisbane street

also the commo was at powercruise, is pretty tough, met him at the cup too...been seeing it more on the road lately

Edited by MatthewT85

Who is going to the R31 cruise on Saturday?

I need a lift from lonnie to Hobart to get my car so i can attend

So if your heading that way Sat morning let me know because that would be really helpful!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• You just need to remove the compressor housing, not the entire turbo. I would not be drilling and tapping anything with the housing still on anyways. 
    • So, I put my boat on a boat. First of all, I'm going to come out and say it. Why is Tasmania not considered a holy goal, an apex that all road-legal modified cars go to, to experience? This place is an absolute wonderland of titanic proportions. If people are already getting club runs for once in a lifetime 30 person cruises to Tassy then I've never seemed to see it. It is like someone replaced the entire place with an idyllic wonderland for cars, and all of the people living there with paid actors who are kind, humble, and friendly. Dear god. After doing a lap of almost all of the place I've found that it's a great way to find out all of the little things that the car isn't doing quite right and a great way to figure it all out. All in all, I drove for 4 hours a day for a week and nothing broke. I didn't even need to open the engine bay. This is by all means a great success, but it has left me with a list of things to potentially address. I also now have a 3D printed wheel fitment tool which annoyingly hasn't got any threads in it to actually assemble it. I might be able to tape it together to check the sizing I actually want to use, but it'll likely involving pulling the shocks out to properly measure travel at least at the front, and probably raise the car while I'm at it, at least in the rear. I scraped on quite a few things and I'm not sure how else to go about it. I was taking anything with a bump at what felt like 89 degree angles. And address those 10 other tasks. And wash the car. God damn it is dirty. And somehow, the weather was perfect the entire time - And because I was on the top of Mt Wellington it turns out it was very much about to freeze up there. I did something I typically never do and took some photos up there in what must have been -10 and the foggy felt like suspended ice, rather than mere fog. If you own a car in Australia, you owe it to yourself to do it.
    • Damn that was hilarious, and a bit embarrassing for skylines in general 😂 vintage car life ey. That R33 really stomped. Pretty entertaining stuff
    • Hi, I have a r32 gtr transmission. Does any of you guys have an idea how much power it will hold with the billet center plate and stock gearset? At what power level and use did yours brake with or without billet plate? Thanks, Oystein Lovik
    • Saw this replica police car based on a Mitsubishi Starion XX parked next to a 'police box' (it's literally a box) in Hirohata, Himeji City in Hyogo prefecture the other day. It's owned by Morii-san who is a local Mitsubishi Starion enthusiast. According to a local radio station blog post, he always wanted to make a police car himself based on ones he saw in his favourite Manga comics.  As it's illegal to modify a car to look like a police car and drive on the road, Morii-san tried many times to get permission from Aboshi police station headquarters nearby. They refused initially by after they got tired of that they granted him permission. However, the car can only be displayed on private property and obviously can't be registered as long as the police livery is present. The car was completed at a cost of 1.5 million yen (US$ 10,000) in addition to the car cost. A location was chosen outside Hirohata Police box where the car can easily been seen from the street. Morii-san has two other Starion road cars, both widebody GSR-VRs.