SAU Community

Buying The Right Equipment For The Job

CEF11E

I am looking at buying welding gear but do not want to spend a fortune. It will be for general use and will never need to weld anything thicker than 6mm but would also like to be able to weld as thin as 1mm for fine stuff. also the ability to weld alloy would be great.

I have very little to no experience welding. I have used oxy/accetelene and arc years ago but thats it.

I am thinking a TIG is the go. and also not a gassless one.

What is a good price to pay for one and what would you recomend as meing the minimum level of rquipment to get?

can anyone recomend a particular unit to buy? total budget will be under $1000. cun you buy a decent unit for that?

Thanks

does that budget include the mask and maybe gloves? i'd spend up good on these two items in particual, i'd probly buy one of those automatic mask things.

i've never used one but they are supposed to be VERY safe for your eyes, and makes sh*t alot easier. i was always fiddling with those normal masks and lifting em up, putting em down, lifting it up, putting down just to see my work (when i was learning to weld)

also, might pay to do a TAFE course or something so a pro can show you how to weld, dunno if you would include that in your 1000 budget.

as for what unit to buy, sorry mate, no idea

I have seen a few for around $750 at a metal supply place. made by an italian company called boss.

120 amp at 50% duty cycle

that will be just a dc tig if u want to tig alloy u will need a ac/dc tig which u can buy cheap ones around the $2,000 mark but they aint that flash at welding alloy

then u will need to add a mask,gloves,regulator,welding rods,tunstan welding tips,stanless steel wire brush,gas,hose to run from the reg to your welder

the gas bottle u will need to get from boc etc and u will have to pay rent on the bottle dont bother with the disposable gas bottles (well not for tig welding)