hrd-hr30 Posted December 13, 2009 Share Posted December 13, 2009 not at QR. I just can't get excited about that place at all. I've been there 5 times in the last 5 years and that's more than enough paperslip action for me. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-4985641 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duncan1 Posted December 15, 2009 Share Posted December 15, 2009 not at QR. I just can't get excited about that place at all. I've been there 5 times in the last 5 years and that's more than enough paperslip action for me. I can see where your coming from, We will do a few at lakeside aswell. A good day out with mates at a not so brilliant track is still better than a great day at work though! Hence QR is alright by me! Noise restrictions also stop the GTR coming out at lakeside. We will take the Evo though. See you @ Lakeside then sometime! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-4988360 Share on other sites More sharing options...
260DET Posted December 18, 2009 Share Posted December 18, 2009 Looking forward to doing some runs on the QR Sprint circuit again, its fun and there is a bit to it. Yeh sure a well driven big power car will be hard to beat but whats new? Sprint circuit has a few places where time can be gained, a few tricks, its just that Lakeside is so in-your-face-balls-out its easy to say pffft to QR. Anyway I'll be doing both, can't wait Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-4993880 Share on other sites More sharing options...
hrd-hr30 Posted December 18, 2009 Share Posted December 18, 2009 I've been to a number of race tracks and hillclimbs in QLD and NSW and it gets easier to say pffft to QR with each one. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-4994096 Share on other sites More sharing options...
260DET Posted December 20, 2009 Share Posted December 20, 2009 (edited) To each their own I guess. If a place is not fast enough so you can at least have a bit of a blast in fourth gear (3.9 diff) with a high speed corner or two thrown in then its of no interest to me, for all its faults QR qualifies in that regard. Of course Lakeside is faster and more challenging, Philip Island would be even better I imagine. Edited December 20, 2009 by 260DET Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-4995844 Share on other sites More sharing options...
hrd-hr30 Posted December 20, 2009 Share Posted December 20, 2009 I don't rate a track by what gear I can get into or even what speed the corners are, just how interesting and challenging they are. I'm happier at Mt Cotton where you barely get out of second gear, but the corners are a real challenge! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-4996766 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neil Posted December 21, 2009 Share Posted December 21, 2009 Hey guys it would be fantastic if you lot could keep us cockroaches informed about dates and stuff. Duncan and I want to pop up there next year and have a play. Supersprints and Hillclimbs ect are what we are after. I beleive the Aussie Hillclimb champs are up there this year as well as the Aussie Supersprints. I personally would love some practice. Cheers Neil. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-4997943 Share on other sites More sharing options...
evil_weevil Posted December 21, 2009 Share Posted December 21, 2009 Neil, Let me know if you guys plan a weekend around mid 2010 or after Im there! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-4998054 Share on other sites More sharing options...
mosport Posted December 21, 2009 Share Posted December 21, 2009 qld hillclimb champs are 5th & 6th of June at Mt Cotton (South of Brisbane, north of gold coast) sprints for sedans at qld raceway & lakeside most months Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-4998088 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evocoop Posted January 3, 2010 Share Posted January 3, 2010 I'm pretty keen to come down there for a play at both Lakeside and Qr this year cause I haven't drivin on either. Went to power cruise at Qr once but it was lame. I need to find a week where i can have a run at both within a couple of days of each other so I can make the most of the 3600km round trip. Any sugestions......? Marlin, you've heard how loud my car is....do you reckon it'd be ok at lakeside with the noise restrictions? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-5013823 Share on other sites More sharing options...
260DET Posted January 3, 2010 Share Posted January 3, 2010 2010 QR and Lakeside days here http://www.queenslandraceway.com.au/main.php?menu=qri02 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-5014288 Share on other sites More sharing options...
mosport Posted January 3, 2010 Share Posted January 3, 2010 this year most weekends include QR sat arvo & lakeside sunday so shouldnt be hard to do the 2 together. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-5014328 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evocoop Posted January 4, 2010 Share Posted January 4, 2010 2010 QR and Lakeside days here http://www.queenslandraceway.com.au/main.php?menu=qri02 That's perfect fellas. Thanks heaps for that. I'll post on here when I'm gonna come down to see who to look out for. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-5016116 Share on other sites More sharing options...
HYPTUP Posted January 5, 2010 Share Posted January 5, 2010 QR is boring as crap ... better than no track at all though ... MP is pretty cool ... long way though. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-5018106 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duncan1 Posted April 14, 2010 Share Posted April 14, 2010 REVIVAL!! Thought this was a worthy enought thread to bring back from the dead.. Who's doing what in the coming weeks? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-5180659 Share on other sites More sharing options...
handbrake Posted April 14, 2010 Share Posted April 14, 2010 see you at QR May 12 Ben, nothing sooner unfortunately. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-5181292 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strik3r Posted April 16, 2010 Share Posted April 16, 2010 ^^ ditto for me Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-5183466 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duncan1 Posted April 16, 2010 Share Posted April 16, 2010 (edited) ^^ ditto for me Hey Gervase, I thought you might be doing lakeside on the 8th? Do you think the car is too loud? Looking forward to Qr this time around, might finally be able to pull the thing through the corners instead of looking like im in a drift comp! the car has always had a HKS torque splitter that we hadnt used until practise a few weeks ago, what a difference! Hey Paul, Look forward to seeing the 35 out again. Looked very good out there last time. Edited April 16, 2010 by Duncan1 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-5183829 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strik3r Posted April 18, 2010 Share Posted April 18, 2010 Hey Gervase,I thought you might be doing lakeside on the 8th? Do you think the car is too loud? Looking forward to Qr this time around, might finally be able to pull the thing through the corners instead of looking like im in a drift comp! the car has always had a HKS torque splitter that we hadnt used until practise a few weeks ago, what a difference! Hey Paul, Look forward to seeing the 35 out again. Looked very good out there last time. atm mine is definitely too loud though its something i want to get on top of as I'd love to do some laps around lakeside. I have a HKS Torque controller as well, but i havent had too much of a chance to play with it. I turned it on once but didnt really like how the car felt.. maybe need to give it more time and adjust driving style to suit. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/288758-queensland-raceway-sprints/page/3/#findComment-5186107 Share on other sites More sharing options...