rb25 Posted June 28, 2004 Share Posted June 28, 2004 ive owned some bad cars too and this one has NEVER failed me had vt v8 commodores and falcons, all shit cars, poor build quality and under-powered engines for what they are imho. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912173 Share on other sites More sharing options...
predator Posted June 28, 2004 Author Share Posted June 28, 2004 i noticed mine doesnt idle as smooth with the camgear (retarded cam timing) but overall better after that.. so its probably better to have it that way i reckon Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912174 Share on other sites More sharing options...
rb25 Posted June 28, 2004 Share Posted June 28, 2004 you can tell theyre stuffed when youve gotten the engine warm for a while, pull up and can hear a weird knock/squeak from the front of the engine obviously. mine started the shit last night. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912176 Share on other sites More sharing options...
predator Posted June 28, 2004 Author Share Posted June 28, 2004 ived been lucky with my cars.. no major problems .. all have been jap or aussie-jap though Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912177 Share on other sites More sharing options...
jlnewton Posted June 28, 2004 Share Posted June 28, 2004 So tired. Evening all. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912180 Share on other sites More sharing options...
rb25 Posted June 28, 2004 Share Posted June 28, 2004 lol. my mate came around with his commodore ute tonight all pumped up about the new vx engine in it, went for a drive and it just has nothing on the skyline! anyway, later we went to get a feed and took my car, gave it a bit and he just turns to me and say "**** i wish my ute went like yours and justins cars!". lol Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912181 Share on other sites More sharing options...
predator Posted June 28, 2004 Author Share Posted June 28, 2004 aggg.. yeah.. bad i still got my old ones.. look ok, but hard to tell how warn or otherwise from just looking at them i guess Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912182 Share on other sites More sharing options...
rb25 Posted June 28, 2004 Share Posted June 28, 2004 sup jl Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912185 Share on other sites More sharing options...
predator Posted June 28, 2004 Author Share Posted June 28, 2004 hahaha.. yeah, gold.. like when u see at the strip all these guys with their newish XR8's, HSV and all of this and exhausts and powerchips and everything else - $$$ ..and still they get low 14's to high 13's at best. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912188 Share on other sites More sharing options...
predator Posted June 28, 2004 Author Share Posted June 28, 2004 or even worse a $10k S13 kicks their ass Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912191 Share on other sites More sharing options...
rb25 Posted June 28, 2004 Share Posted June 28, 2004 im not too sure if i need a new cam belt but i think for 80bux i'll just replace it. it'll bed into the new rollers better than a used one. got that new cam gear on there too. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912192 Share on other sites More sharing options...
jlnewton Posted June 28, 2004 Share Posted June 28, 2004 Hey Gordon, just reading back a bit, any idea on what you would go to after the 33??? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912193 Share on other sites More sharing options...
jlnewton Posted June 28, 2004 Share Posted June 28, 2004 Best to replace the timing belt, I had to replace mine 10000k after I changed it for the 100000k service after the crank case seal let go spraying oil everywhere and on the belt. Gavin said it was best to change it again and I kinda agree. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912198 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keegs Posted June 28, 2004 Share Posted June 28, 2004 Best to replace the timing belt, I had to replace mine 10000k after I changed it for the 100000k service after the crank case seal let go spraying oil everywhere and on the belt. Gavin said it was best to change it again and I kinda agree. sh*t that would suck! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912201 Share on other sites More sharing options...
predator Posted June 28, 2004 Author Share Posted June 28, 2004 ..probably a cheap R32.. in auto.. then throw all the drivetrain .. and get an RB30DET built.. nice bottom end first with forged pistons.. then maybe some minor head work to the RB25 head.. then bolt together hopefully myself and into the car, again, hopefully myself. stick at the back of that an RB25DET gearbox and twin plate i guess. Yes - big asks ! If not, somebody else can do the assembly/fitting but i'd prefer to save as much as possible. hopefully have one of the fastest RWD out there (in QLD anyhow) Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912204 Share on other sites More sharing options...
rb25 Posted June 28, 2004 Share Posted June 28, 2004 yep, ive done about 15-20000 on mine Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912205 Share on other sites More sharing options...
jlnewton Posted June 28, 2004 Share Posted June 28, 2004 sh*t that would suck! Yeah, scared the crap outer me when I first saw the big oil slick under the car, quickly identified it though as the Gemini has done a similar thing just not quite as spectacular. Gavin was quite impressed by the amount of oil completly covering the underside of the car, and the oil stink from the oil burning on the exhaust. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912206 Share on other sites More sharing options...
predator Posted June 28, 2004 Author Share Posted June 28, 2004 .. next time i've been thinking a bit more of going more as to what i can afford as i get the cash.. so piece by piece on a fairly cheap car to start. Rather than having the expensive car to start with and then having to pay for mods ontop of that (what i've found with the 33) Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912208 Share on other sites More sharing options...
rb25 Posted June 28, 2004 Share Posted June 28, 2004 id be pretty happy to own a full track race prepped r32 with a 600HP sr20. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912209 Share on other sites More sharing options...
predator Posted June 28, 2004 Author Share Posted June 28, 2004 sr20.. yeah.. could be done not a huge fan of the 4's though.. don't like an engine screaming its head off for the power.. hence the rb30det .. and no wanting an rb20det at any cost (revs too high to get power, snap/snap on and off) anyhow, this work i'm doing in the background is shitting me right up the wall.. better iron out the bugs coz i wanna sleep now Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/34318-qld-whoretown/page/2255/#findComment-912210 Share on other sites More sharing options...