SAU Community

Engine Making Weird Noise

sleptema

Jumped in my car this morning and it was making a weird high pitch buzzing/squeaking noise. It SOUNDS like a belt rubbing against something but I could not see anything. My dad says it may be a problem with a bearing, but I do not know what that means, as I am by no means a mechanic.

Took a short video from inside the car which is where I first heard it, then down to the left of the air intake near the fan where it seemed to be the loudest. My car is a r34 gtt, so a rb25det neo. The car is basically stock, bov, catback exhaust, hks mushroom air filter, bleeder valve + tune. Engine doesn't seem to be unresponsive or having any problems but I was too afraid to give it too much piss just incase something did happen. It is due for a service within a month, (every 5000kms, last service was a 100,000km) only done 102k kms. Anyone have any ideas?

Edited by voncina

hi mate,

its tough to try and listen to that noise..

But u could try and remove a belt and see if its a pulley/bearing. Or take it in earlier for the service if your not mech minded.

take all the ancillary belts off one by one (remember that the one that goes on your fan also runs the water pump so dont run it for a long time with that off) and see if the noise goes away

It may be the idler pulley bearing for the A/C

Otherwise it may be underneath the timing cover, as said above, something may not have been done right in the 100,000km service or it may not have been done at all

Also have a feel of your crank angle sensor (on the front of the timing cover) just in case the bearing in there has gone. Mine used to make noises before I put my new CAS on, but they were different noises to that. Cant rule it out but

Edited by 89CAL

New belts will generally stretch after a a while. It even says to readjust them after installing.