SAU Community

How Do You Protect Your Track Car ?

Ricky_Bobby

Hey guys,

I am a bit of a newbie to SAU forums, I used to be on hardtuned.net alot but the 17 year olds with bad attitudes got a bit much.

I have a track car thats not complied for australian roads, I keep reading just about every week about a skyline, stagea, etc getting stolen and its making me paranoid. I live in Adelaide and the car is usually stored at home, I have a cheap wheel clamp on one of the front wheels but its pretty basic.

Being a track car I really dont want to fit an alarm as such, I really dont need the headache if the thing plays up as it would be really a pain to get the car back to wherever it gets fitted for warranty work.

I cant imagine I am the only guy out there with the same situation, what are people using to protect their pride and joy ?

I know there are other topics about this, but it seems the flaming of people takes precedence over helpful information.

So please refrain from turning this into the same, I really dont need the bother.

Edited by Ricky_Bobby

A basic tracker can cost up to $800 depending on its features and the features you want wired up, the installation (whether you pay a pro or do it yourself) and of course the brand of product. A basic tracker will also need a simcard to send you location info whenever you ask it, and the costs associated with txt messaging which is very minimal if you use the same phone carrier as your personal phone. It would not cost more than $10 per month if you had it on a basic plan (Telstra). Some carriers offer a 365 day prepaid plan which needs topping up annually, with that kind of plan it would probably cost around $20 for the whole year. There are no other annual monitoring costs or subscription costs associated with these trackers because you are doing the monitoring personally. They are a one time purchase product so you can remove it and put it into your next pride and joy.