SAU Community

Twin Plate Clutch install... Help

GiJOr33

I've picked up an OS Giken Clutch from one of the boys on this forum... and all i need to do now is install it!

I have a mate who has a hydraulic car hoist so i'm not going to be doing it in the driveway!

But i've never changed a clutch before... he has though. Are they any different to changing a standard clutch? Also while the geabox is down is there anything else i should change? like bearings or anything... if so, what, and where would i get the parts?

Can't wait to get the power to the road!

Thanks

Andrew

Ummm, I'm no expert, but I've done a few clutches in my time :)

Just a few things to check;

Make sure you have heaps of tools, good tools, one or two trolley jacks (to hold the gear box up while your trying to get it back in), and LOTS of extension bars....

We did a R32 GTS4t a while ago, and there is one bolt between the motor and gear box that is right up the top on the gear box.

Now I'm not sure if the R33 is the same, but the only way we could get to that one bolt was too jack the front of the motor up (so the back angled down) and get about 4-5 10 inch extension bars joined together to reach that top bolt !!!!!

Yepp, it was a pain in the butt !!!

Also, make sure that clutch is compatable with the factory flywheel, and make sure that that clutch uses that factory push?? (or is it pull??) config, or you might need a converter or something (this is abit above my head).

It sounds scary, but you should be fine, just try not to get frustrated when your trying to get the box back in - it takes time and is fiddly to get it to slot back in.

Good luck

J

cool... thanks for the tip

My mate has an engine jack as well as the car hoist... He's done plenty of clutches... i just thought there might be some cheap parts that would be worth replacing while the geabox is open...