SAU Community

Fuel economy, what you can do about it.

AlexCim

Well, in my quest for improving my fuel economy (current i do 150km/half tank) i am pooling all the previous threads into one for anyone searching on how to improve the fuel economy.

First, i would like to note my car is standard, high flow panel filter, cold air intake and jaycar EBC set 7/10psi. I normally drive on 7psi. I am a normal driver, not a hoon. City driving.

Tips to improve economy:

* Change the O2 sensor if its really old (60,000+)

* Check spark plugs, gapped to 0.8mm

* Jaycar digital fuel adjuster (getting mine tuned this weekend, will let you know results)

* Fuel filter, replace it

* If you have a Jaycar EBC, set it to 100% the WHOLE rpm range, meaning boost comes on later

* "On the highway you can drive for miles without the converter locked up unless you do the following: establish the cruise speed - say 100 - 110 km/h, then throttle back until you get 12-14 inches of vacuum , then gently press on the accelerator until your boost gauge reads 5-8 inches of vaccum, and then you should feel the converter lock up, after which if you modulate the throttle smoothly, you can drive it like a manual unless you go into boost, whereby the converter drops back off the lock up and your fuel economy suffers again."

* An exhaust should imrove things also

* "An interesting fact my Brother in law told me (mechanic) that driving with AC on is more efficient than with the windows down on long, highspeed trips. so just keep that in mind when testing to see if better fuel economy without AC, don't wind the window down"

* Make sure you tune your car after any modifcations. Pod/Filter/Exhaust etc all make the RB's richer...odd i know.

* Keep car off boost, however this may result in really slow driving.

Anyone else got anything i can add?

Cheers