Ive read through endless pages of dyno graphs and comparisons, ive even tried a few combos my self. but im after peoples recommendations as to what would be a good, over the counter purchase to put on my RB25.

I want around 270-280 with awesome response, with the potential to go to 300 ish. Turbo will be in a high mount application and more then likely externally gated.

i have previously run a gcg 3071R with .71 avo rear housing in the low mount postition internally gated and made 280 rwkw with cams and gears. wasnt a bad turbo at all. but i still felt it was a bit of a compromise being internally gated as well. boost control was an issue with this set up.

so yeah... post some suggestions people.

Simon

find out what troy (roy) uses on his rb20 and run the same setup on your rb25det

from memory its a td06 from a GTR twin kit run in single form on a proper manifold, external gate

its here

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/Rb...o-t103095.html#

td06 20g-8cm2 rear housing

with a proper setup

yeah i'd love a TD06 20g, one of my mate has one on his 25 and makes 317 rwkw on 17 psi. awesome response too. however at 4K for the kit its a little out of reach.

after a garret option which would be cheaper yet still effective

You could either wring the neck of a GT3071 (with a 0.82 rear housing) or GT3076 or perhaps something in between like discopotato 03 just ordered ie 52 trim 76mm.

If you have a split manifold you could order a divided housing from ATP which might improve response slightly and would suit any of these options.

For about 280rwkws with fast response you can try a 52T 76mm comp on a GT30 Turbine in BB assemble using .63 rear housing. Or .58 rear housing which would definitely increase response shaving off about 20KWs top end power. You can also replace the standard .50 To4E compressor with a .60 T04B comp. Which can also increase turbo response.

have thought about tuning for E85 but availabilty issues is a concern for me as sometimes its not even for sale in SA. that and the fact for 300 rwkw i'd need 740cc injectors or bigger!

limpus: the 3037 pro s would be my ideal choice for a turbo i reckon. how much you asking?

I was thinking about this last night, 4k for the td-06 kit seems cheap when you consider what it comes with compared to a custom garrett setup.

this is a rough guide, for what I would do with a garrett setup, obvioulsy cheaper if you buy a china minifold.

decent manifold - $1200

turbo - $2000

wastegate - $500

oil and water lines - $300?

Custom Dump - $250-300 in mild steel

intake pipe- anywhere from $10 to 200

Mind you, if you can get a td-06 kit for 4k please let me know where lol

yeah thats the thing tho, exhaust manifold, dump, intake and oil and water lines i do not need to factor into cost as i'll be doing them all myself. So just need turbo and gate really.

that RX6 kit looks insane! lol

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• Even more fun, leave all the ADAS stuff plugged in, but in different locations, hopefully avoid any codes!   And honestly, all these new cars with their weird electronics. Pull all the electronics out Duncan, and just shove an aftermarket ECU and if needed a trans controller in, along with a PDM. Make it run basic but race car styled!
    • To follow up a question from earlier too since I had the front bar off again (fking!) This is what is between the bumper and the drivers side wheel And this is the navigator side, only one thing but its a biggy! So basically....no putting coolers in the wheel arches without a lot of moving other stuff. Assuming I move to properly race prepping this car I'll take that job on and see how the computers respond to removing a whole bunch of ADAS modules
    • So I prepped the car for another track day on Wednesday (will be interesting to see coolant temps post flushing out and the larger reservoir, with a forecast of 3-14 being 20o cooler than last time I took it out). Couple of things to mention; since I am just driving the car and not taking a support vehicle, I took the rear seats out and just loaded the back up Team Trackday style. Look at all that space! To cover off removing the rear seat....it is weird (note the hybrid is probably different because it wouldn't have folding rear seats) Basically, you remove the lower seat base, very similar to a r series but it is a clip that pulls forward to release the base rather than it being bolted down. Easy Then, you need to remove the side section of the rear seat on each side. There is a 14mm head nut at the bottom of the side piece, the it slides upwards off a hook at the top to release; you also need to unhook the seatbelt from the loop at the top. Then the centre piece is weird. You need to release/fold the seats forward with the tab in the boot on each side From there, there are 2,x12mm headed bolts holding the rear of each seat to the folding bracket, under the trim between the rear seat and the boot (4x christmas tree clips there, they suck). The seat is out but you can see where the bolts attach to the bracket
    • As discussed in the previous post, the bushes in the 110 needed replacing. I took this opportunity to replace the castor bushes, the front lower control arm, lower the car and get the alignment dialled in with new tyres. I took it down to Alignment Motorsports on the GC to get this work done and also get more out of the Shockworks as I felt like I wasn't getting the full use out of them.  To cut a very long story short, it ended up being the case the passenger side castor arm wouldn't accept the brand new bush as the sleeve had worn badly enough to the point you could push the new bush in by hand and completely through. Trying a pair of TRD bushes didn't fix the issue either (I had originally gone with Hardrace bushes). We needed to urgently source another castor arm, and thankfully this was sourced and the guys at the shop worked on my car until 7pm on a Saturday to get everything done. The car rides a lot nicer now with the suspension dialled in properly. Lowered the car a little as well to suit the lower profile front tyres, and just bring the car down generally. Eternally thankful for the guys down at the shop to get the car sorted, we both pulled big favours from our contacts to get it done on the Saturday.  Also plugged in the new Stedi foglights into the S15, and even from a quick test in the garage I'm keen to see how they look out on the road. I had some concerns about the length of the LED body and whether it'd fit in the foglight housing but it's fine.  I've got a small window coming up next month where I'll likely get a little paint work done on the 110 to remove the rear wing, add a boot wing and roof wing, get the side skirt fixed up and colour match the little panel on the tail lights so that I can install some badges that I've kept in storage. I'm also tempted to put in a new pair of headlights on the 110.  Until then, here's some more pictures from Easter this year. 
    • I would put a fuel pressure gauge between the filter and the fuel rail, see if it's maintaining good fuel pressure at idle going up to the point when it stalls. Do you see any strange behavior in commanded fuel leading up to the point when it stalls? You might have to start going through the service manual and doing a long list of sensor tests if it's not the fuel system for whatever reason.