SAU Community

Buying An R32 Gtr? -help

Hughydw

Hi guys new to SAU, Just signed up.

I'm looking to buy a skyline and I've been looking at one which is immaculate, It's owned by my mate, Has just had a fresh Respray, It's completely 100% stock apart from an immobiliser and alarm system on remote, The readout says 40,xxx kms but I'm not sure if I should trust them or not?

Engine looks to be in good condition aswell, Has been compression tested, He's recently rebuilt the head aswell as general maintainence, Replacement of fluids, ect.

Now I'm looking to have this as a daily driver, I've tried searching for this topic and have found information but it's all mixed opinions.

What are your thoughts on an R32 GTR in terms of daily driving and reliability? All I've managed to read about is some people saying you'll need to rebuild the whole engine which is big $$ and others saying it'll be fine?

I'm not looking to do any serious modifications at the time being so it will be left stock.

Could someone please elaborate on the issues that they may experience ect? I'm new to jap cars especially skylines, I'm a mechanic by trade but still not sure on the 26's.

Thanks guys ✌?️

Get the underside of the car checked for any worn bearings/bushes and potential rust issues that the car may have. If it has plenty of those that you can't see just by going around the car then you could be up for some work.

Also the 40,000km is likely to be BS, most likely closer to 150,000km or more, so if you really wanted to know the true value before it was imported you can do the Japanese History/Rego check thing and you can get the Auction Documents for a small fee. You'd be able to guess with certain things on the car aging the difference between "40,000" and the unknown true value.