SAU Community

R33 clutch engagement

MindlessR33

Hey guys, 

Just bought a R33 today and I've never had such a hard time driving a car. The drive itself is fine, feels super healthy, but the clutch is super aggressive. It has a OS Giken of some sort according to previous owner. The issue I'm having is that it engages almost at the top of the pedal and it's instant. Seems like there 1-2cm of distance between full engagement and disengagement. 

Is there anything I can do about that? I've been driving manuals for 10+ years and I stalled this car 30-35 times today at red lights. 

Check it is bled properly.

On a different car I moved the pivot point and ussed an adjustable rod to get the take up point where I wanted it and a wider range of modulation, so there are things you can do, but it will never drive like a stock clutch.

Just now, Ben C34 said:

Check it is bled properly.

On a different car I moved the pivot point and ussed an adjustable rod to get the take up point where I wanted it and a wider range of modulation, so there are things you can do, but it will never drive like a stock clutch.

Ok, as long as I can get a bit more modulation out of it I'll be happy. If the revs aren't high enough there's no saving it when it starts to stall. I'll check it out tomorrow and see what it seems to be, was too dark by the time I made it home. 

unfortunately with this sort of clutch you have to be aggressive with them, meaning you have to get the revs up or you will stall it every time.i have the same problem with mine as they get warmer they grab instantly. but I had no option as I was needing something to handle lots of grunt,i am use to it now but you get a few funny looks from some people as you take off.

4 hours ago, MindlessR33 said:

Ok, as long as I can get a bit more modulation out of it I'll be happy