SAU Community

GMTGTR's R32 GTR overhaul

GMTGTR

Grab a coffee, because this might take a while. Thanks for reading.

My transmission/clutch is starting to act up, so it seems like a good time to dig into the drivetrain to address much needed (and wanted) upkeep and upgrades "since I'm in there". I'll be doing a lot of planning to manage the overall scope, requirements, and goals of the project before I start disassembling anything. Anything I can verify ("known knowns") or proactively plan for ("known unknowns") before I disassemble will be budgeted as contingency to avoid delays or overspending. I am (was?) a project manager by trade. So why not project manage the shit out of this?

The car will be left on a battery maintainer and not driven at this time. I plan to start disassembly around January of 2024. I'd love to be completed by June of 2024, but quality of execution is my main focus. I will be doing all the labor with a friend who owned and has extensive knowledge (some dated) on skylines from working as a mechanic/track support at HKS USA and MotoRex (confirmed shit show lol).

There's five main goals (scope) for this overhaul:

1. Maximize the current setup on the car (HKS GT-SS) with a proper standalone
  2. Overhaul entire suspension
  3. Perform general maintenance/inspections on entire running gear
  4. Modernize where prudent (R35 coils)
  5. Modernize where convenient (a radio? lol)

I'll do my best to index future posts to make it easier to follow progress on different aspects with reference to project goals. Not sure how much I will document with pictures or video, I'll see how the first steps go before I commit. Aside from the financial abuse I'm about to take and the hiatus of driving my skyline, I'm looking forward to this. Looking forward to any tips or advice along the way. Thanks SAU

Edited by GMTGTR
  • Like 1

Here's some background on my car: