SAU Community

Know anything about Formula Ford cars?

Silver-Arrowz

I'm really thinking of selling the line and getting a competition/hooligan car. Open wheeler is what I really want to get into but I've got no carting experience. Looking around I see some Formula Ford cars for sale and I just wanted to know a few things?

How are they on reliability?

How expensive can repairs get?

I wouldn't mind racing it, but more just track days, hillclimbs and maybe a club on occasions. Is this possible?

Anyone know where I can go to get more info?

Formula Ford is a very competitive form of motorsport. I have dealt with the Australian Van Dieman distributer who is a top guy and really supports the category and when he can the young drivers in it.

Very reliable and provided it doesnt get bounced off too many things then they dont require huge amounts of maintenance. Be warned though the Australian Formula Ford (FF) championship has a registration cost of somethinglike 40k per season, though the NSW State Championship is somewhat cheaper (Sponsors?)

If your looking to use an open wheeler for Hillclimbs etc you are better off buying a hillclimb style of car, i have been involved in the design and building of a Kawazakiu powered (600cc) FF style car, and its cheaper to buy a well sorted chassis then build one from scratch.

Hope this helps.

(Me thinks you should buy an R32GTST or S14 Sylvia import and run in the Imporved Production Series, cheaper, can drive the cars to/from track and also run at track days, hillclimbs etc

Formula ford is probably not your best bet, if you hit a wall or something then repairs will be very expensive. They are generally reliabel though as the motor is very basic, they are not all that fast and there are a lot better things to drive.