SAU Community

The Importance Of Car Security

frx026

Hi Guys,

My name is Pj, I am a custom alarm installer with around 10 years experience here in Australia.

I no longer do fitments so this is not an ad or promotion of any type.

I am just a guy who has recently bought a skyline and signed up to a couple of forums, this one and an international one to learn more about Skylines.

One thing has really struck me straight away is the number of cars that are stolen and never recovered.

I wanted to give you all a few tips on how you might be able to make your car harder to steal.

I say harder because in reality no car is impossible to steal no matter the type of alarm.

Firstly.

Do you have an alarm?

If you dont, get one NOW! The features to look out for are -

- twin point immobilisation in the module - in built immobiliser for two of the cars circuits

- 1 point external immobilisation - alarm can immobilse another seperate circuit

- black wiring with no identifying marks - ALL black wiring no color codes or tags

- battery back up siren

- code hoping remotes - so your remote is harder to clone

- point of entry sensing - if something opens the siren goes off.

there are a stack of other cool things alarms can do, the more you want the more you pay.

What alarms are insurance approved?

This varies, always check with your insurance company what they require.

Insurance companies always try not to pay out, your car may not get stolen, but if you damage it they may reject a claim if the alarm does not conform with their standards.

ALWAYS CHECK.

Does your existing alarm work?

Sure the previous owners showed you how it worked, or the installer a year ago showed or told you it worked, but does it? have you ever tested it?

To test it is easy. Take the car somewhere where there is no-one around or where your neighbours dont mind a bit of noise.