SAU Community

My Fabrication Tips And Projects

SS#eater

hi to all!

well i am an apprentice sheet metal worker im 23 and doing an adult apprenticeship i have been mucking about with metal since i was about 14...here are some of my projects i am making and planning to make

post-28208-1171702477.jpg

post-28208-1171703454.jpg

ok first up i made this air filter adapter out of 1.6mm thickness stainless steel sheet and 75 mm 3" tube...

preperation is the key to tig welding something of this nature can bu "fused " together this is when you apply heat to a concentrated area and the join simply melts together you move on at a steady rate keeping an eye on the moulten pool this is fusing....to have a successful fuse you must have the two edges of material clean and as close as possible if you you try to fuse 2 peices with a small gap it will simply burn away leaving a hole or even bigger gap to fill! and it suxs been down that road.. this is an un pollished part at the moment stainless can be pollished to a number 4 finish using scotch brite scouring pad...this is food grade finish! not that i will be eating off this..high pollishing is possible with the right buff wheels..i found this finish is enuf.

post-28208-1171703605.jpg

post-28208-1171703782.jpg

ok second here is the first oil catch can i made ...it was originally made for my buggy (turbo suburu single seat buggy full custom) but i am using it to mock up the hose arrangement as my car is off the road turbo is at Slides....

ok once again stainless steel used 4 inch tube, 2 end caps, small pipe to fit air filter,

i will add step by step pictures when available monday or tuesday...