SAU Community

Roll Cage 'fabraications'

Flea

Hey Peoples,

I picked up my car from Rai Curry's workshop 'Fabraications' on the weekend.

I had a 1/2 roll cage installed into my car (R34 GTT)

When I picked my car up I was so happy with their work I thought I would put this post up so if other people are thinking about getting cages fitted they can go to someone who does a great job.

The work was done in the time frame they gave me, the work was second to none & the customer service was great.

Here is Rai's website: www.rollcages.com.au

And some pictures of the great work.....

post-29217-1207547895_thumb.jpgpost-29217-1207547910_thumb.jpg

post-29217-1207547922_thumb.jpg

post-29217-1207547934_thumb.jpg

From the pics it looks nice :rofl:

But (and i will freely say i am NO expert) isn't the horizontal/harness bar (the one the harness is resting on) a little too low, thus creating too much angle to the seat? It is my understanding that the harness should come off the seat as straight as possible, but not quite 90degs, to prevent the driver's spine from being crushed in an accident.

From the pics it looks nice :blink:

But (and i will freely say i am NO expert) isn't the horizontal/harness bar (the one the harness is resting on) a little too low, thus creating too much angle to the seat? It is my understanding that the harness should come off the seat as straight as possible, but not quite 90degs, to prevent the driver's spine from being crushed in an accident.

You're absolutely correct.

http://www.camsmanual.com.au/pdf/general/0...dule_I_Q208.pdf

The recommended angle is between 0-10 degrees from horizontal, but upto 40 degrees is "acceptable". Most people would weld in a horizontal bar between the rear legs to use as the harness mounting point.