SAU Community

How Do You Install Fire Extinguisher?

Hi Guys,

Here is a question for you track gurus out there.

I am a true track amateur with my GMG R35.

I intend to track the car in a few weeks and they require a fire extinguisher to be installed in the car.

Where can I get it done?

How do they do it?

Does it require welding or drilling?

How much does it cost?

Would be good if you could post some photos of the install.

Thanks in advance.

:)

I was thinking of knocking up an alloy bar (with appropriate bends for clearance) which bolts onto the rear passenger seat floor bolts, such that the extinguisher sits in between the seat rails. How big an extinguisher do you want/need, 1kg? Should be easy to install/remove with no drilling etc.

Edited by LSX-438

I was thinking of knocking up an alloy bar (with appropriate bends for clearance) which bolts onto the rear passenger seat floor bolts, such that the extinguisher sits in between the seat rails. How big an extinguisher do you want/need, 1kg? Should be easy to install/remove with no drilling etc.

I think the pre-requisite is that it needs to be easily accessible, so it needs to be in front.

My friends 911 and BMW have it stuck to the front seat structure.

Just don't know who in Melbourne can do it.

Thanks.

I think the pre-requisite is that it needs to be easily accessible, so it needs to be in front.

My friends 911 and BMW have it stuck to the front seat structure.

Just don't know who in Melbourne can do it.

Thanks.

i am not sure there would be much of a difference bewteen the front and back in terms of accessibility, perhaps sit in the car and see? It could be the back is more accessible if you are using a harness. But I guess you could do the same thing for the front?

BTW i found this adjustable one which might work?

http://www.ogracing.com/catalog/2-Car/30-F...INGUISHER-MOUNT